The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 March 2003, 10:40 am
New Zealand Sailors Receive Government Grant
No ALT tag specified

Yachting New Zealand

The Prime Minister's Scholarship Programme was established by the government in recognition of the need for athletes to consider their long-term careers and the importance of higher education to prepare them for life after sport.
Yachting New Zealand would like to congratulate the following sailors who have received a Prime Minister's scholarship for Semester 1, 2003:

Simon Baker Jake Bartrom Matthew Blakey
Michael Bullot Chris Burgess Anna Eason
Melinda Henshaw Shelley Hesson Philip Keen
Chris Kitchen Sarah Macky Matthew McCormick
Sheena McKinnon Andrew Murdoch Kate O'Brien
Mark Overington Miranda Powrie Craig Prentice
Anita Purdie Kelly Riechelmann Sonya Swinburne
David Weaver James Wells Geoff Woolley

The Scholarship programme recognises that whilst winning on the international stage is rewarding, it is unlikely to lead to a full time career for most sports people. Athletes therefore need to prepare for life after sport.

The scholarships allow people to pursue tertiary education and have their fees paid up to a maximum of NZL$ 10,000 in order to enable them to continue their sporting interests alongside education. They may also be eligible for living assistance.

In 2002, 480 athletes across New Zealand were awarded a Prime Ministers Scholarship.

For more information on the Scholarship Programme refer to the New Zealand Academy of Sport website at the address below.
Yachting New Zealand/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM