The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 June 2003, 06:04 pm
Classic Finish as Title Goes To Bundock
No ALT tag specified

2003 Round Texel Race

The outcome of the Zwitserleven Round Texel 2003 has proved exciting. Peter VINK and Sven de LAAF from the Netherlands passed the favorites at that time, Gunnar LARSEN and Xander POLS, just before the finish line.
Team Vink/De Laaf rounded Texel in 2 hours, 37 minutes and 19 seconds, only nine seconds before Larsen/Pols. Tornado World Champion Darren BUNDOCK finished in third position in 2 hours 40 minutes and 1 second. Bundock, who sailed this week with Will HOWDEN, had a good chance to win the overall title on rating. They were the first Formula 18 team, followed closely by Mitch BOOTH and Herbert DERCKSEN. The Olympic 470 team Marcelien de KONING and Lobke BERKHOUT crossed the finish line as first women team.

No ALT tag specified

Peter Vink's first reaction: "We always sail good at Texel, but we never were that close to a victory. Finally, we completed the race successfully." Sven de Laaf: "Twenty more minutes and I would have died. It was tough." The organization honored the happy couple on the beach. With today's result, team Bundock/Howden also won the Texel Dutch Open 2003.

Leigh MCMILLAN and Mark BULKELEY from Great Britain crossed the finish line in first position, but due to an early start they were disqualified. To make things worse, they capsized in the surf and broke their mast.

'Worlds Biggest Catrace' had a good start yesterday morning. By a moderate west wind, force three to four, 525 catamarans crossed the starting line. The onshore wind made it difficult to sail through the surf, but less catamarans than expected got damaged. The organization was content with the course of the Zwitserleven Round Texel. Round Texel co-ordinator Edwin LODDER: "We are satisfied. Everything went well and we had perfect sailing conditions."

No ALT tag specified

Top Ten Overall

Position Class Crew
1 hobie 18 tiger Bundock (AU) / Howden (AU)
2 hobie 18 tiger Booth (AU) / Dercksen (NL)
3 formule 18 Colby (AU) / Camenisch (AU)
4 nacra F18 new Styles (UK) / Lynch (UK)
5 tornado Vink (NL) / Laaf (NL)
6 hobie 18 tiger Dam (NL) / Dam (NL)
7 formule 18 Kenbeek (NL) / Brouwer (NL)
8 formule 20 Hollander (NL) / Mulder (NL)
9 M20 Larsen (NL) / Pols (NL)
10 hobie 18 tiger Figueroa (PR) / Hernandez (PR)
Event Media (As Amended by ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM