The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 November 2003, 02:06 pm
Finalists Nominated
No ALT tag specified

New Zealand Yachting Excellence Awards

The finalists have been decided in the 2003 Yachting Excellence Awards and the winners in the SYNERGI Travel Sailor of the Year and the Young Sailor of the Year Award categories will be announced on 28 November.
The Yachting New Zealand Sailor of the Year Award and recipient of the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy, began in 1963 with P Class designer, Harry Highet receiving the first prestigious award. Past Sailor of the Year Award winners include famous Yacht Designers, Olympic Sailors, Media Personalities and America's Cup Sailors including, Sir Peter Blake, Team New Zealand, Chris Dickson, Russell Coutts, Peter Montgomery, Bruce Farr, Bruce and Barbara Kendall and Peter Mander to name a few.

Over the years other Award categories have been introduced. The Young Sailor Of the Year category was introduced in 1996 to profile New Zealand's talented youth sailors, and Honour and Merit Awards were introduced to recognise some of the dedicated volunteers working tirelessly for the good of the sport and others that have made significant contributions to New Zealand Yachting.

The finalist nominees for the 2003 Awards are:

SYNERGI Travel Sailor of the Year:

- Brian Petersen
(winner of Melbourne to Osaka Two Handed Race in Maverick II)
- Ben Morrison
(winner of 2003 OK Nationals, 2nd 2003 World OK Dinghy Championships)
- Barbara Kendall
(2nd 2003 ISAF World Championships, 1st 2003 Sail Auckland - women's Mistral class)
- Neville Chricton
(winner Sydney to Hobart race, Maxi World Cup, Fastnet race)
- Jon-Paul Tobin
(2nd 2003 Saronikos Gulf Regatta, 1st 2003 SPA Regatta, 1st 2003 Semaine Olympique, 5th 2003 SAR Princesa Sofia, 1st 2003 Olympicsail, 1st Mistral Imco National Championships - men's Mistral class)
- Sarah Macky
(6th 2003 ISAF World Championships, 3rd Semaine Olympique, 1st 2003 Olympicsail, 2nd 2003 Sail Auckland - Europe class)

Young Sailor of the Year

- Brett Elstob
(1st 2003 Olympicsail, 1st 2003 Youthsail, 2nd NZ Splash Championships, 9th 2002 Splash Worlds - Splash Class)
- David Robertson
(6th ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships, 1st 2003 Youthsail, 1st Sir Peter Blake Memorial Regatta - men's mistral class)
- Scott Kennedy & Alastair Thompson
(1st Youthsail, 5th ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships - men's 420 class)
- Olivia Powrie & Sarah Bilkey
(1st Sail Auckland, 3rd Olympicsail, 4th Youthsail, 9th 2003 ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships - women's 420 class)
- James Williamson
(1st 2003 Tanner Cup, 2nd Starling Auckland Championship, 3rd P Class North Island Championship, 3rd P Class Winter Championship, 2nd Youthsail (29er class)
- Jo Aleh
(1st woman, 4th overall 2003 Starling National Championship, 1st 2003 Youthsail (Europe class), 6th 2003 ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships - Laser Radial class)
- Scott Morrison
(1st 2003 All Japan Youth Regatta (Sea Hopper), 1st 2003 Tauranga Cup, 1st 2003 Auckland Boys P Class Championship, 2nd 2003 Youthsail (29er class), 1st Sir Peter Blake Memorial Regatta (P Class)
- Michael Bullot
(1st 2003 North American Laser Championship)
- Jake Bartrom
(2nd Laser Radial Open World Championship, 2nd 66th Warnemunder Week, 2nd 2003 Austrian Nationals (Europa Cup), 1st Sir Peter Blake Memorial - Laser Radial class)
- Paul Snow-Hansen
(2nd 2003 NZIODA Optimist Open Championship, 2nd 2003 North Island Optimist Championship, 2nd 2003 Sail Auckland (Optimist Class), 24th 2003 Optimist World Championship - 2nd best placing ever by a NZer in the history of this regatta)

The award recipients in the remaining categories have already been decided and the following people will be presented with their Awards at the 2003 Yachting Excellence Awards dinner:

Merit Award:
(recognising the acts or services with either directly or indirectly have the effect of promotion, advancement or betterment in New Zealand of the sport of yachting)
- Stewart Thwaites

Honour Award:
(recognising a) outstanding sportsmanship or rescue of other persons, or b) outstanding services to yachting in New Zealand at club, regional, national or international level rendered by any person, club, vessel, corporate body or company)
- Ross May
- Brian & Mary Inglis
- Rob Sowry
- John Goater
- John Parrish
- John Peet
- Jennifer Loader
- Richard Jones
- Peter Carr
- Pat Smylie
- John Elliot
- Denis Hewitt
Yachting New Zealand
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM