The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
12 November 2003, 12:00 am
Winners To Be Announced Tonight
No ALT tag specified

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2003

The winners of the world's most prestigious sailing award, the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards, will be announced tonight at the Awards Presentation in Barcelona, Spain.
2003 celebrates the Tenth Anniversary of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards. Hosted by Paul Cayard (USA), and attended by the nominees, past winners, and prominent figures from the world of sailing the evening will be a celebration of the achievements of the sailors and the sport.

In the ten years since its inauguration, the Awards have become a global symbol of victory and achievement, signifying excellence in the sport of sailing. For all those who excel there are hundreds following them who aspire to success, or who are just inspired by the sport and other sailors' achievements.

The nominees for the 2003 Awards have achieved success across a wide variety of platforms. Whilst some of the sailors have clinched titles from under the nose of their rivals at the last race of the pinnacle event of their year, others have dominated throughout the season. It is extremely difficult to compare each success and it is the 112 ISAF Member National Authorities who have chosen the winners of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2003.

Six female and eleven male nominees have been shortlisted for the 2003 Awards and each has demonstrated spectacular achievement in the sport.

Darren Bundock and John Forbes (AUS)
Russell Coutts (SUI)
Neville Crichton (NZL)
Augie Diaz (USA)
Chris Draper and Simon Hiscocks (GBR)
Gal Fridman (ISR)
Torben Grael (BRA)
Gustavo Lima (POR)
Przemyslaw Miarczynski (POL)
Xavier Rohart and Pascal Rambeau (FRA)
Gabrio Zandona and Andrea Trani (ITA)

Betsy Alison, Suzy Leech and Lee Icyda (USA)
Adrienne Cahalan (AUS)
Lee Korsiz (ISR)
Malin Millbourn, Linda Yström, Åsa Aronsson and Kim Kulstad (SWE)
Siren Sundby (NOR)
Hannah Swett, Joan Touchette and Melissa Purdy (USA)

Comprehensive information on the nominees and details of their nomination can be found on
The Awards Presentation will be followed on Thursday morning by a match racing event held from Barcelona Olympic Harbour, which will see the 2003 winners and nominees pit their skills against the sailing media.

Television Feed
Trans World International (TWI) will be producing a 2-3 minute news feed from the Awards Presentation.

The local end details are:

Thursday 13th November 2003
Payout : TWI local end AJDF1

02.00 GMT

2-3 VNR payout
15 min feed to BT Tower
Reuters / EBU to receive feed

TWI MCR no. + 44 (0)208 233 5597 / 98 - you are advised to call 5 mins before the feed.

Please confirm that you have booked in to receive the feed.

TWI can also provide a copy of the feed on DV Cam. Any queries regarding the feed or DV Cam copies should be addressed to Elanor Duck: +44 7930 277 226.
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM