The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
10 February 2003, 09:48 am
Leaders Consolidate Their Positions
No ALT tag specified

Sail Auckland

All the previous days leaders of the various classes consolidated their leads on the third day of racing.
In the shifty conditions Barbara Kendall (NZL) was in her element winning all 3 races in the Mistral Imco womens fleet. Sheena McKinnon (NZL) also had a good day with 3 second places and is now second overall in the fleet. In the mens Mistral Imco fleet 2 times former world ISAF youth champion Joeri Van Dyk (NED) scored 2 firsts and a 2nd and has a comfortable lead over Tom Ashley (NZL) and James Wells (NZL) who also performed well. Leading youth sailor David Robertson (NZL) scored a creditable 3rd in the days first race.

The 470's sailed 4 races today and Andrew Brown/Jamie Hunt (NZL) scored 3 firsts moving them ahead of the top ranked crew of Gabrio Zandona/Andrea Trani (ITA).

The conditions on the single handed course were particularly testing with wind swings of up to 90 degrees early on. As a result they had several delays, but still managed 3 races. Michael Blackburn (AUS) increased his lead and now leads Andrew Murdoch (NZL) by 28pts. Rod Dawson (NZL ) obviously benefiting from his recent experience on the OneWorld weather team performed best of any one on the day and is now 3rd only 2 points behind Murdoch. Carolijn Brouwer (NED) scored 2 firsts and now leads Sarah Macky (NZL) by 5 pts with Jo Dikkenberg a comfortable 3rd. In the Finns Sebastien Godefroid (BEL) has a 6pt lead over Clifton Webb (NZL), but Mateusz Kuszierewicz (POL) trails by only 2 pts.

The Tornado and Hobie 16 classes finished yesterday. In the Tornado's former world champion boardsailor Aaron McIntosh won in his first regatta in his new class. Nigel Cotsell/Geoffrey Faulkner were comfortable winners over Glen Ford/Rose Ellis.
Overall Top Three
Laser :
1. Michael Blackburn (AUS) 16 pts
2. Andrew Murdoch (NZL) 44pts
3. Rod Dawson (NZL) 46 pts

Europe :
1. Carolijn Brouwer (NED) 14 pts
2. Sarah Macky (NZL) 19pts
3. Jo Dikkenberg (AUS) 22pts

Finn :
1. Sebastien Godefroid (BEL) 21pts
2. Clifton Webb (NZL) 27pts
3. Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL) 29pts

Laser Radial :
1. Blair McLay (NZL) 8pts
2. Matt Coutts (NZL) 18pts
3. Mathieu Frei (FRA) 22pts

470 :
1. Andrew Brown/Jamie Hunt (NZL) 10pts
2. Gabrio Zandona/Andrea Trani (ITA) 16 pts
3. Shelley Hesson/Linda Dickson (NZL) 25pts

Mistral Imco Women :
1. Barbara Kendall (NZL) 8pts
2. Sheena McKinnon (NZL) 17pts
3. Allison Shreeve (AUS) 22pts

Mistral Imco Men :
1. Joeri Van Dyk (NED) 9pts
2. Tom Ashley (NZL) 24pts
3. James Wells (NZL) 29pts

John Wilkinson/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM