The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 August 2003, 01:25 pm
Paul CAYARD (USA) To Host Awards Presentation
No ALT tag specified
Paul Cayard (USA)©Mark Dadswell/Allsport

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2003

The renowned international sailor Paul CAYARD will be hosting the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards Presentation on 12 November 2003 in Barcelona, Spain.
Paul follows the tradition of international sailors before him who have hosted this prestigious Awards Presentation, which is an evening for sailors by sailors. 2003 marks the tenth holding of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards and back in 1994 it was Gary JOBSON (USA) and Bruno TROUBLE (FRA) who undertook hosting honours. More recently in 2002, Nikos KAKLAMANAKIS (GRE), World Champion and Olympic medallist in the Mistral, presided over the evening.

Paul Cayard was the first American skipper to win the Whitbread Round the World Race, in 1998 on EF Language. He is a seven-time world champion of sailing and a five-time America's Cup veteran. However, it is the Star World Championship title from 1988 which is his most coveted prize.

Paul first participated in the America's Cup in 1983, when he was sail trimmer for the late Tom BLACKALLER (USA) aboard the 12-meter Defender. He sailed again as tactician with Blackaller in 1987 aboard USA, the first St. Francis Yacht Club entry in the America's Cup. In 1992, Cayard led Il Moro di Venezia to win the Louis Vuitton Cup and his first trip to the America's Cup finals. In 1995, Cayard was the helmsman for the Stars & Stripes team when he raced in the America's Cup finals for the second time in a row on Young America. In 2000, Cayard led the St. Francis Yacht Club entry, AmericaOne, to the finals of the Louis Vuitton Cup.

His honours include election to the US Sailing World Hall of Fame in 2002 and US Rolex Yachtsmen of the Year in 1998.

2003 marks the tenth presentation of the Awards and ISAF is delighted that Paul will be joining ISAF, Rolex and the sailors of the world at this prestigious and unique event.

No ALT tag specified
May 1998 - Paul Cayard (USA), skipper of the overall winner EF Language holds up the trophy at the end of the Whitbread Round the World Race for the Volvo Trophy 1997-98. © Stephen MundayAllsport

The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are presented annually to recognise the outstanding sailing achievements of male and female sailors, as nominated and voted by the world of sailing. ISAF invites nominations for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2003 from all - whether a sailor, class, national authority, media, sailing club, event organiser or other. Nominations should be made on the official Nomination Form available online at:

Nominations close at 1000 hours UCT on Monday 1 September 2003.

Previous Presenters:
1994 - Gary Jobson (USA) and Bruno Trouble (FRA)
1995 - Gary Jobson (USA) and Teresa Zabell (ESP)
1996 - Sir Peter Blake (NZL) and Sir Robin Knox-Johnston (GBR)
1997 - Hans Wallen (SWE) and Dawn Riley (USA)
1998 - Begonia via Dufresne (ESP) and Bob Fisher (GBR)
1999 - John Forbes (AUS) and Sarah Roberts-Thompson (AUS)
2000 - Ian Walker (GBR)
2001 - Mateusz Kusnierewicz (POL)
2002 - Nikos Kaklamanakis (GRE)

For further information:

ISAF - ISAF Secretariat, Ariadne House, Town Quay, Southampton, SO14 2AQ, Great Britain. Tel: +44 2380 635111 Fax: +44 2380 635789
Email: Web:

On Behalf of Rolex - Key Partners, KPMS, 70, Route des Falaises, CH-2000 Neuchatel, Switzerland. Tel: +33 662647475 Email:

ISAF Secretariat
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM