The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 August 2003, 10:00 am
Gary JOBSON (USA) and Alan BOND (AUS) To Be Honoured
No ALT tag specified

HMM America's Cup Hall Of Fame

Yesterday it was announced that Alan BOND of Fremantle, Australia and Gary JOBSON of Annapolis, Md. had been named as the 2003 inductees to the Herreshoff Marine Museum's (HMM) America's Cup Hall of Fame.
The two remarkable yachtsmen, whose contributions to the America's Cup competition have been outstanding over the years, will be honored at an official Induction Ceremony on Thursday, October 16, 6:30 p.m., at the Union League Club in New York City. The event is a black-tie affair sponsored by longtime HMM supporter Rolex Watch U.S.A. This will be the 11th such Induction Ceremony that the HMM has hosted.

Presiding over the Induction Ceremony will be Halsey C. Herreshoff, President of the HMM and America's Cup Hall of Fame.

Gary Jobson

Gary Jobson, accomplished sailor and beloved television commentator, has done more to popularize the sport of sailing than any other individual. He combines his thorough knowledge of sailing with a rare ability to describe competition, interpret strategy and convey the excitement of the sport. He has done more in his lifetime to dispel the stereotype that sailing and yacht racing is the exclusive domain of the wealthy and make it accessible and enjoyable to an international audience.

Jobson was an All-American collegiate sailor three times and was twice named College Sailor of the Year (1972, 1973). He later became the sailing coach at the US Merchant Marine Academy and US Naval Academy. In 1977, he was tactician for Ted Turner on Courageous during the team's successful defense of the Cup against Australia. He was tactician again on Courageous in 1980 and was both founder and tactician of the 1983 Courageous/Defender syndicate.
The quintessential sportscaster, Jobson was named ESPN's Sailing Commentator in 1985, and produces over 30 shows per year. In 1988 he won an Emmy Award for his coverage of yacht racing at the Olympic Games in South Korea. He covered the Games again for NBC in 2000 and will be covering the Games in Athens in 2004.

Jobson is also a prodigious lecturer and writer. He has authored 13 books on sailing and is Editor-at-Large of Sailing World and Cruising World magazines. Over the past 25 years Jobson has given over 1900 lectures throughout the world.

Jobson's contribution to the sport has not gone unnoticed. In 1999 he was awarded the Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy, US SAILING'S most prestigious award given annually to an individual who has played a pivotal role in the sport in the United States. Jobson's charisma and generous nature has endeared him in the hearts of millions of his fans.

Alan Bond

Alan Bond, an adventure-seeking entrepreneur, turned his sights on the America's Cup in 1974 with the 12-Meter Southern Cross. This boat, designed by Ben Lexcen, lost to Courageous 0-4, but Bond was undeterred and returned again in 1977 and 1980 with the next generation of Lexcen designs.

After three defeats, most challengers would have given up, but in the spirit of Sir Thomas Lipton, Bond tried a fourth and this time made America's Cup history. For the 1983 Cup, Bond challenged with the breakthrough Lexcen designed 12-Meter Australia ll. The combination of a radical "winged keel," a well organized syndicate and superb crew set the stage for the "race of the century." Australia II had a win-loss record of 44-5 before her final series with Dennis Conner's Liberty. Australia ll, skippered by John Bertrand, won 4-3 over Liberty, and the America's Cup left America for the first time in 132 years.

Pursuit of the Cup was a singular focus for "Bondy" who said "I really believe you only regret the things you don't do." His success, where so many others had tried and failed, was due to his resourcefulness, determination and force of personality.

About the America's Cup Hall of Fame

The America's Cup Hall of Fame was created to honor the challengers, defenders, and legendary personages of the world's most distinguished sporting competition. The present prototype Hall of Fame was established in 1994 in an historic building on the grounds of the former Herreshoff Manufacturing Company in Bristol, Rhode Island, where yachts were constructed for eight consecutive America's Cup defenses between 1893 and 1934. The Herreshoff Marine Museum, situated on this historic site, operates the America's Cup Hall of Fame.

Commencing with its first induction ceremony in 1993, 53 legends of the Cup have been invested with membership. Candidates eligible for consideration include skippers, afterguard, crew, designers, builders, organizers, syndicate leaders, managers, supporters, chroniclers, race managers, and other individuals of merit. Each nominee is judged on the basis of outstanding ability, international recognition, character, performance, and contributions to the sport. The 17 members of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee bring a wealth of knowledge to the selection process. They are persons intimate with the America's Cup tradition of yacht racing and committed to the integrity of the Hall of Fame.

The Selection Committee for the Hall Of Fame

B. Devereux Barker, III, Chairman
Henry H. Anderson, Jr.
Bruno Bich
John S. Burnham
Edward I. du Moulin
Nathanael G Herreshoff, III
F. E. Hood
George F. Jewett, Jr.
Bruce Kirby
Stanley Livingston, Jr.
Elizabeth E. Meyer
Robert W. McCullough
David M. Philips
John Rousmaniere
Olin J. Stephens, II
David B. Vietor
William G. Winterer

Hall of Fame Honor Roll
· Charles Francis Adams
· James L. Ashbury
· J. Burr Bartram
· Charles Barr
· Robert N. Bavier, Jr.
· John Bertrand
· Baron Marcel Bich
· Sir Peter Blake
· Malin Burnham
· Dick Brown
· Edward Burgess
· W. Starling Burgess
· James E. Buttersworth
· William F. Carstens
· Dennis Conner
· Russell Coutts
· Briggs S. Cunningham
· William P. Ficker
· Sir James Hardy
· Sir Michael Fay
· Nathanael G. Herreshoff
· F.E. "Ted" Hood
· Chandler Hovey
· Sherman Hoyt
· C. Oliver Iselin
· Arthur Knapp, Jr.
· William I. Koch
· Sir Thomas J. Lipton
· Harry "Buddy" Melges
· Edward I. du Moulin
· E.D. Morgan
· Henry Sturgis Morgan
· Emil "Bus" Mosbacher, Jr.
· Frank J. Murdoch
· Charles E. Nicholson
· Sir Frank Packer
· General Charles J. Paine
· Victor A. Romagna
· Morris Rosenfeld
· Stanley Rosenfeld
· Tom Schnackenberg
· George L. Schuyler
· Henry Sears
· T.O.M. Sopwith
· George Steers
· John Cox Stevens
· Olin J. Stephens, II
· Roderick Stephens, Jr.
· R.E. "Ted" Turner
· Harold S.Vanderbilt
· Gertrude Vanderbilt
· George L. Watson
· The Earl of Wilton
Barby MacGowan (As Amended by ISAF Secretariat)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM