The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
28 September 2005, 12:33 pm
2006 Women And Sport Trophy
No ALT tag specified

IOC News

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has made women's participation in sporting activities and the Olympic Games one of its major concerns. In the framework of the IOC policy to promote the advancement of women in sport at all levels, a Women and Sport Trophy is awarded annually to a person, institution or organization in recognition of their outstanding contribution to developing, encouraging and strengthening the participation of women and girls in physical and sports activities.
ISAF Vice-President Novi CEPPELLINI (ITA) won the inaugural European Women in Sport Trophy in 2000 for her work to introduce more women's events into the Olympic sailing programme and her efforts to organize the first ISAF Women's World Match Racing Championships, won by Dorte JENSEN (DEN) in Genoa Italy in 1999.

Since 2000, five continental trophies and one worldwide trophy have been awarded annually to a former athlete, a coach, an administrator, a journalist, an institution, an organization or even a person who has made an exceptional contribution to women in sport in administrative or leadership structures, or in the media.

The IOC Women and Sport Commission, chaired by IOC member Anita L. DEFRANTZ (USA), has invited all the National Olympic Committees (NOCs), the International Sports Federations (IFs) and the Continental Associations of NOCs to nominate candidates for the 2006 edition of the Women and Sport Award.

The deadline for submitting candidatures has been set at 15 November 2005. A jury, composed of Commission members, will study each file and announce the names of the winners at a ceremony in March 2006.

IOC (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM