The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
29 August 2003, 02:02 pm
Day One
No ALT tag specified

Knickerbocker Cup
Knickerbocker YC

Eleven teams from all over the world descended on Knickerbocker YC in Port Washington, NY to compete in the 21 running of this ISAF Grade 2, four-day match racing event.
Ed du MOULIN and the late Arthur KNAPP initiated this event in 1982, and since then, the Knickerbocker Cup has gained status over the years as part of the Match Racing Association of which Knickerbocker YC Past Commodore Ted Weisberg is the immediate past President, and is currently a Director of the Swedish Match Tour.

Wednesday, August 27 was reserved for a practice day, with racing commencing on Thursday, 28 August immediately after the 8:00 am Skippers Meeting. Manhasset Bay, in western Long Island Sound, looked resplendent and offered the competitors beautiful blue skies without a cloud in sight. But with the wind coming out of the NNE, ranging from 6-8 knots max, and very shifty, the Race Committee got everyone out on the water in a hurry to take advantage of what was expected to be a dying northerly. And that is exactly what happened. About mid-day after the first rotation, the wind died turning the bay into a glassy calm from 1:00 - 5:00 pm, after which the same northwesterly returned. But time had run out and racing was cancelled for the remainder of the day.


Terry McLaughlin, Canada, 3 wins, 1 loss
Mattias Rahm, Sweden, 3 wins, 1 loss
Dave Dellenbaugh, US, 2 wins, 2 losses
Andy Green, Great Britain, 1 win, 3 losses
Przemek Tarnacki, Poland, 1 win, 3 losses
Martin Angsell, Sweden, 0 wins, 0 losses
Damian Emery, US, wins, 0 losses
Sven Eric Horsch, Germany, 0 wins, 0 losses
John Mollicone, US, 0 wins, 0 losses
Matteo Simoncelli, Italy, 0 wins, 0 losses
Mason Woodworth, US, 0 wins, 0 losses

Event Media (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM