The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
16 December 2003, 11:34 am
Prize-Giving and Plans For 2004
No ALT tag specified

Trophee Clairefontaine

Jean-Marie Nusse, the director of Clairefontaine, handed the XIV Trophée Clairefontaine's prizes to the 2003 winning champions.
The prize giving ceremony was held at the Morbihan stand of Espace Bretagne during the International Paris boat show. Frenchman Michel DESJOYEAUX was rewarded for snatching the Champion of the Champions title after a tight battle against runner-up Loïck PEYRON. Ernesto BERTARELLI (SUI) and his Team Alinghi finished in third place overall. It was Michel DESJOYEAUX'S second win in the Trophée Clairefontaine, his first victory having been in 2001.

Next year, this show event will again take place in the nautical stadium of La Trinité-sur-mer, off the Northwest coast of France, from the 2 till the 5 September 2004.

Eight champions invited to the XV Trophée Clairefontaine

The 2003 top three champions will be invited to compete again in 2004, that is Michel DESJOYEAUX, Loïck PEYRON and Ernesto BERTARELLI, who impressed everyone in 2003.

Franck CAMMAS, who won the Trophée Clairefontaine in 2000, will be invited again in 2004. The French skipper is the 2003 60-footer multihulls (ORMA) hero as he not only won the double-handed Transat Jacques Vabre (Le Havre-Salvador) but also most of the other regattas of the season.

Jean-Pierre DICK, who won the Transat Jacques Vabre in the 60-foot monohull class and will be a serious contender in the Vendée Globe 2004-2005, will enter the elitist club of the Trophée Clairefontaine participants.

Philippe PRESTI, double Finn World Champion and recent winner of the Trophée Véolia Environnement, and represents both Olympic sailing and match-racing, will also participate in the Trophée Clairefontaine for the first time.

British sailing star Ellen Macarthur is of course invited again to compete in la Trinité-sur-mer.

The future winner of the Solitaire Affelou Le Figaro 2004 will also be among the contenders as it was the case in 2002 according to an agreement signed with the organisers of the famous single-handed summer race.

Since its creation in 1990, the Trophée Clairefontaine is the only one-design event to gather champions from various sailing disciplines in order to show what a unique and varied sport is sailing.
Isabelle Musy (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM