The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
18 December 2003, 12:51 pm
Swiss Team of the Year Award
No ALT tag specified
Russell COUTTSwith other winners

Alinghi Honoured

Team Alinghi received the "Team of the year award" last Saturday, 13 December 2003, in Bern, during the CS Sports awards ceremony.
Both swiss sports journalists and the public could choose to elect Alinghi, the football club Basel (active in the Champions League) or the Swiss National soccer team (who just qualified for Euro 2004). 46% of the voters choose to elect Alinghi! The sailing team is in good company: Roger Federer (Wimbledon and Masters tennis tournament winner) and Simone Niggli-Luder have both been elected too in the "individual sports" category. The sport of sailing has never received such an award in the past in Switzerland.

On 14 December, Alinghi received another prestigious award in France and was named: "Lauréat de l'Académie française des sports".
Alinghi Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM