The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
24 January 2003, 10:17 am
Lovig/Douglas Take Hobie 16 Class
No ALT tag specified
Hobie 16 Action

Commonwealth Sailing Championship

The Final Day of the inaugural Commonwealth Sailing Championship took place yesterday out of Sandringham Yacht Club in Melbourne.
Robbie Lovig/Glen Douglas finished with a 6-2 result on the last day, dropping their 6th placing to take the Hobie 16 class by two points, with a finish of 14. Lovig is a former World Youth champion in this class and has made the transition to adult competition in this class and the Tornado, without much trouble.

In a series in which the top three finished closely, Shayne Brodie/Loren Gough (FIJ) finished 2nd overall with a 2-1 result, from Steve Fields/Kieran Browne (Vic) who had a 1-3 finish.

Final Points:

1. Robbie Lovig/Glen Douglas 14
2. Shaye Brodie/Loren Gough 16
3. Steve Fields/Kieran Browne 17


In a series that got closer as the event went on, Nathan Wilmot/Malcolm Page have won both the Combined and Mens 470 class.

Most competitors in the 470 had previously competed at the Olympic & Invited Classes Regatta at Sandringham Yacht Club, after travelling from other events in NSW, and by the end of today came ashore tired.

The number 1 World-ranked Wilmot/Page had enough points in the bank after winning Race 9 yesterday, choosing not to compete in the afternoon race, keen to pack their boat away for their next event.

Matthew & Daniel Belcher (Qld), are definitely on the up, and sailed well in this Championship to finish 2nd overall with a 5th in Race 9 and winning Race 10, only two points behind the winners.

Andrew Brown/Jamie Hunt (NZL) also had a great event, finishing 4-2, to take 3rd place overall in the 8-12 knot winds at 180-195 degrees on the last day.

Jenny Armstrong/Belinda Stowell (NSW) finished 4th overall in the Combined fleet, winning the Womens 470, finishing with a 3rd in Race 9, and 4th in Race 10, to give them a clear 9 point lead over their nearest rivals, Lisa Charlson/Rike Ziegelmayer (NSW) and Shelley Hesson/Linda Dickson (NZL).

Final Results:


1. Nathan Wilmot/Malcolm Page 16
2. Mathew & Daniel Belcher 18
3. Andrew Brown/Jamie Hunt 19


1. Nathan Wilmot/Malcolm Page 15
2. Mathew & Daniel Belcher 16
3. Andrew Brown/Jamie Hunt 17


1. Jenny Armstrong/Belinda Stowell 8
2. Lisa Charlson/Rike Ziegelmayer 17
3. Shelley Hesson/Linda Dickson 21


Michael Blackburn (NSW) is back in the serious form that won him Bronze at the Sydney 2000 Games, winning seven of the 10 races sailed in the Laser.

Blackburn winning both of the last two races to complete the series, finished eight points in front of his nearest challenger, world-ranked No. 5, Ed Wright (GBR), who placed 2-3 for a 2nd overall place.

After winning both the Olympic & Invited Classes Regatta and the Commonwealth Sailing Championships in this class, Blackburn would be feeling some confidence in his ambition to represent Australia at his third Olympic Games.

Having had a stint in the 49er skiff, these were his two first major regattas, at which he beat some of the top-ranked Laser sailors in the World.

Alastair Gair (NZL) had a good series to finish 3rd with a 5-2 result, 5th being his worst result which he used as a discard.

Final Results:

1. Michael Blackburn 9
2. Ed Wright 17
3. Alastair Gair 23

Laser Radial

Debbie Hanna from Northern Ireland won the Laser Radial Class at the Championship

Hanna, from Northern Ireland, won five of the 10 races sailed, and is the only winner at these Championships from outside Australia.

World-ranked 2 Yngling keelboat sailor, and former Olympian in the Europe class, Melanie Dennison (AUS), showed her adaptability, placing 2nd overall, winning five of the seven races she sailed. She is a great ambassador for sailing and Melbourne.

Megan De-Lange (AUS) came home 3rd overall sailing consistently 2nd and 3rd throughout the 10 race series with one race drop.

The Commonwealth Sailing Championships will next be sailed in 2006, and double the entries are expected.

Final Results:

1. Debbie Hanna 11
2. Melanie Dennison 17
3. Megan De Lange 18

Di Pearson/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM