The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 May 2003, 09:27 am
Day One Results
No ALT tag specified
Weibke Schroder (GER) leads in the Europe © Richard de Jonge

2003 SPA Regatta

Robert Scheidt (BRA) wins three races in Laser and Great Britain and the Netherlands are the leading countries after the first day of racing.

Robert Scheidt from Brazil has won all three races in the Laser on the first day racing of the SPA Regatta 2003. That makes him the absolute winner of Day One. Great Britain and the Netherlands both have a first position overall in two classes, which makes them the leading nations. Due to great sailing conditions with a south-west wind force four, all scheduled races could be sailed.

Tornado class

The Tornado class completed three races in the afternoon. Team KARSENBERG/HEEMSKERK from the Netherlands sailed a steady series with a first, second and third place. They are leading the fleet, followed by the Australian World Champions BUNDOCK/FORBES and the Spanish team ECHAVARI/BLANEO. The winners of last year's SPA Regatta, BOOTH/DERCKSEN from the Netherlands, are in fourth position, followed by the European Champions BACKES/VOIRON from France. The level of world's best Tornado teams is getting closes and closer.

470 Women

After three races the Israeli team of KORNECKI is first overall. In the second race they were close to the finish when they dropped their spinnaker, thinking the victory was theirs, but the Dutch team DE KONING/BERKHOUT passed them on the finish line. The Dutch girls are in second position overall, followed by the Spanish team VIA DUFRESNE/AZON.


After winning the America's Cup, Peter VAN NIEKERK from the Netherlands decided to start an Olympic campaign in the Star with Mark NEELEMAN, a sailing legend. The SPA Regatta is their first pre-Olympic regatta together and after a second place in race two, they are in ninth position overall.

Last year's winners, team PERCY/MITCHELL from Great Britain is leading, followed by team BROMBY/WHITE from Bermuda and KATS/MARTENS from the Netherlands.

Top 3 Results for each class

Mistral Men:
1 Jon-Paul Tobin NZL 2
2 Zhou Yuanguo CHN 6
3 Marcos Galvan ARG 7
Mistral Women:
1 Lise Vidal FRA 3
2 Yin Jian CHN 6
3 Romy Kinzl GER 11
470 Women:
1 Nike Kornecki ISR 5
2 Marcelien de Koning/Lobke Berkhout NED 13
3 Natalia Via Dufresne/Sandra Azon ESP 17
470 Men:
1 Sven Coster/Kalle Coster NED 5
2 Alvaro Darinho/Niguel Nunes POR 9
3 Philippe Gildas/Nicolas le Berre FRA 10
1 Sven Karsenbarg/Mischa Heemskerk NED 6
2 Darren Bundock/John Forbes AUS 13
3 Fernando Echavari/Anton Paz Blaneo ESP 17
1 Chris Draper, Simon Hiscocks GBR GBR 4
2 Alister Richardson/Peter Greenhalgh GBR 9
3 Rodion Luka/George Leonchuk UKR 12
1 Ian Percy/Steve Mitchel GBR 7
2 Peter Bromby/Lee White BER 8
3 Serge Kats/Jean Pierre Martens NED 9
Yngling :
1 Shirly Robertson/Sarah Webb/Sarah Ayton GBR 3
2 Melanie Dennison/Fiona Herbert/Caroline Aders AUS 7
3 Dorte Jensen/Helle Jespersen/Rachel Kiel DEN 8
1 Roberte Scheidt BRA 3
2 Daniel Birgmark SWE 4
3 Michael Blackburn AUS 8
1 Emilios Papathanasiou GRE 2
2 Karlo Kuret CRO 5
3 Ben Ainslie GBR 5
1 Wiebke Schoder GER 6
2 Sari Multala FIN 8
3 Trine Abrahamsen DEN 10
Diana Bogaards (As Amended by ISAF Secretariat)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM