The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 May 2003, 12:04 pm
Skippers and Racing Yachts Ranking System Introduced
No ALT tag specified

2002/03 Asian Yachting Regatta Season

With only the Koh Samui Regatta left to run on the 2002/03 Asian Yachting Regatta Season plus having 10 racing class events this year Asian Yachting has decided to introduce a performance based ranking system.
For Skippers and Racing Yachts competing in Asia, the ranking system is based on the awarding of points for the overall racing class results held during the season.

As the Sportsboats class is expected to develop up next season separate rankings will appear for this exciting new class derived from the regatta's that include this class as a alternate racing division.

Skipper's Ranking
1. Peter Ahern (11 pts)
2. Ray Ordoveza (6 pts)
3. Fred Kinmonth (5 pts)
4. Warwick Downes (4 pts)
5. Frank Pong (4 pts)
6. Ray Roberts (3 pts)
7. Mineo Maruyama (3 pts)
8. Neil Pryde (3 pts)
9= Amir Zohri (2 pts)
9= Robert Elliot (2 pts)
9= Alan Burrell (2 pts)
9= Ernesto Echuaz (2 pts)
9= George Hackett (2 pts)
9= Helmuth Hennig (2 pts)
15= Marcel Leid (1 pt)
15= Hannes Waimer (1 pt)
15= Andy Pilcher (1 pt)

In the Yacht Rankings a change occurs at the top of the order with Stella taking second place as Warwick Downes and Fred Kinmonth shared the skipper roles during the season to be as follows:

Yacht Rankings
1. Yo (11 pts)
2. Stella (9 pts)
3. Karakoa (6 pts)
4. Jelik (4 pts)
5= Luna Nuova (3 pts)
5= Viking Express (3 pts)
5= Hi-Fidelity (3 pts)
8= Gotcha Lagi! (2 pts)
8= Linklaters Mandrake (2 pts)
8= Sandoway (2 pts)
8= Subic Centennial (2 pts)
8= Jo de Ros (2 pts)
8= China Blues II (2 pts)
14= Elektra (1 pt)
14= Jativa (1 pt)
14= Time (1 pt)

2002/03 Asian Yachting Regatta Season - How Points Awarded

China Coast Race Week
Fred Kinmonth Stella 3 pts
Helmuth Hennig China Blues II 2 pts
Andy Pilcher Time 1 pt

Hong Kong to Hainan
Frank Pong Jelik 3 pts
Fred Kinmonth Stella 2 pts
Marcel Leid Elektra 1 pt

Asean Regatta
Peter Ahern Yo! 3 pts
Ray Roberts Luna Nuova 2 pts
Hannes Waimer Jativa 1 pt

Raja Muda Int Regatta
Warwick Downes Stella 3 pts
Amir Zohri Gotcha Lagi! 2 pts
Frank Pong Jelik 1 pt

Phuket King's Cup
Peter Ahern Yo! 3 pts
Robert Elliot Linklaters Mandrake 2 pts
Neil Pryde Hi-Fidelity 1 pt

Singapore Straits Regatta
Ray Ordoveza Karakoa 3 pts
Peter Ahern Yo! 2 pts
Warwick Downes Stella 1 pt

Manila to Boracay Race
Mineo Maruyama Viking Express 3 pts
Alan Burrell Sandoway 2 pts
Ernesto Echauz Subic Centennial 1 pt

Royal Langkawi Int Regatta
Peter Ahern Yo! 3 pts
Neil Pryde Hi-Fidelity 2 pts
Ray Roberts Luna Nuova 1 pt

President's Cup Regatta
Ray Ordoveza Karakoa 3 pts
George Hackett Jo de Ros 2 pts
Ernesto Echuaz Subic Centennial 1 pt

Koh Samui Regatta - Taking Place 25-31 May 2003
Points to be Awarded
Capt Marty Rijkuris
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM