The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 September 2005, 05:12 pm
Past Winners
No ALT tag specified

Grey Goose ISAF Team Racing World Championship 2005
Newport, Rhode Island, USA

The 2005 Grey Goose ISAF Team Racing World Championship marks ten years since the inaugural event saw Great Britain take the World title on their homes waters of West Kirby. In the build up to the start of racing in Newport, Rhode Island, USA on Monday ISAF looks at the previous winners of the ISAF Team Racing World Trophy.
No ALT tag specifiedThe first Team Racing Worlds was held in West Kirby, Great Britain ten years ago. It was the home team of Great Britain who came out on top ahead of Ireland, with Australia in third place.

Three years later the next ISAF Worlds took place in Miami, USA with the home team taking victory and Britain this time finishing second, and the Australians again in third.

The following year in Dun Laoghaire, Ireland, New Zealand made it three different nations winning three World Championships, with the USA second and Britain again amongst the medals in third.

The next ISAF Worlds on Lake Brno in the Czech Republic in 2001, saw Kiwis take their second consecutive victory with the team of Andrew MURDOCH, Karen LAMBERT, Hamish MURDOCH, Josh GALBRAITH, Andrew ARDEN and Jeffery CLARK guiding them to victory. Once again the USA took second and the British third, thanks to the teams of Timothy FALLON, Karen RENZULLI, Timothy WADLOW, Erin LARGAY, Graeme WOODWORTH and Leigh WOODWORTH and Stuart HUDSON, Amy SMITH, Steve TYLECOTE, Sally CUTHBERT, Dominic JOHNSTON and Debs KERSHAW respectively.

No ALT tag specified
The New Zealand team celebrate
victory in 2001
© Tomas Turo
The most recent ISAF Worlds in Auckland, New Zealand two years ago saw an American team, which again included Timothy FALLON, Karen RENZULLI, Graeme WOODWORTH, Leigh WOODWORTH and Ery LARGAY, claim the gold medal. This time the British team of Steve TYLECOTE, Mel HUGHES, Pete BARTON, Sally CUTHBERT, Rob SHERRINGHAM and Richard GUY came in second, with the Kiwis, including 2001 gold medallists Andrew ARDEN, Karen LAMBERT, Andrew MURDOCH, Hamish MURDOCH and Josh GALBRAITH with Rebecca MURDOCH, taking bronze on their home waters.

The winning team at the end of racing in Newport will be the sixth to lift the ISAF Team Racing World Trophy, donated to ISAF by the West Kirby Sailing Club back at the inaugural Championship in 1995. The top three teams will also receive Gold, Silver and Bronze ISAF Championship medals.

For a complete list of all the news from the Grey Goose ISAF Team Racing World Championship CLICK HERE.

ISAF. Image, The ISAF Team Racing World Trophy:© Tomas Turo
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM