The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
1 September 2005, 03:24 pm
Capacity Field Confirmed
No ALT tag specified

Beneteau Australian Youth Match Racing Championship 2005
Sandringham, Victoria, Australia

The maximum number of twelve teams have been confirmed for the ISAF Grade 3 Beneteau 2005 Australian Youth Match Racing Championship. Conducted under the auspices of Yachting Australia, the event gets underway at Sandringham Yacht Club, Victoria, Australia on Friday 16 September.
Four States are represented and three States have multiple teams entered.

New South Wales will be represented by four crews led by Evan WALKER, Nathan OUTTERIDGE, Hamish ROUGHLEY and Tom BARKER respectively. The CYCA Sailing Team entry will be skippered by WALKER with crew members Luke MCLEAN and Kyle LANGFORD. The top ranked Sydney helmsman for this event, WALKER is the 2005 NSW Youth Match Racing Champion and was also fourth in this year's ISAF Grade 3 Hardy Cup.

Three times ISAF Youth Worlds gold medallist in the double-handed dinghy, OUTTERIDGE, will team up with Ben BARZACK, Stuart POLLARD, Ian QUARTLY and Ed QUARTLY for the RSYS entry. OUTTERIDGE was runner up in last year's event, with Seve JARVIN winning the final series 3-2 to claim the championship. ROUGHLEY is helmsman for the RPAYC team and BARKER leads the second CYCA entry to complete the NSW contingent.

Following a win in the recent Western Australian Youth Match Racing Championship, Torvar MIRSKY enters the Australian Championships as WA's ranking helmsman and will compete with Richard LESLIE, Steve THOMAS, Luke PARKINSON and Rob SENIOR as crew. MIRSKY placed third in the national event last year. Other WA teams are Luc TASKER, sailing with Brett SHARPE, Peter NICHOLAS and Tim LYNCH; and Robert GIBBS with crew Kinley FOWLER, Jonathon CLOUGH and Jasper WARREN.

Nic DEUSSEN, crew for Dylan CLARKE in last year's event, is helming the sole South Australian entry this year. He will sail with Todd HUGHES, Chris MARTIN, Nathan STOCKLEY and Chad WILSDON in a bid to overcome the States entering multiple teams.

Victoria will have four teams in the Championship, all from the host Sandringham Yacht Club. With the arrival of their new fleet of Beneteau 7.5s, Sandringham has been focussed on developing their talented young sailors. As the Victorian Championships are only being conducted on 3-4 September, rankings have yet to be confirmed. Andy HUNTING, Adam EVANS and Chris MAXTED are each helming a Victorian entry, while Megan RIDGWAY leads the events' only all girl team.

Sandringham offers an outstanding venue for the Championships, with excellent marina and onshore facilities. The club hosts the annual ISAF Grade 1 Sail Melbourne Regatta, and has been the venue for a range of World Championships. Excellent spectator viewing is available from the club balcony or breakwater, depending on wind conditions.

This event is supported by Beneteau and Ronstan.

David Staley. Image:© Event Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM