The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 September 2008, 11:39 am
France's WUILMART and DUTREUX Win SL 16 World Championship Title
The SL16s racing in La Baule
The SL16s racing in La Baule

SL 16 World Championship 2008
La Baule, France

Elodie WUILMART and Benjamin DUTREUX of France won the first SL 16 World Championship after an impressive display in La Baule, France.
Ideal weather arrived for the last day of racing in La Baule, where 26 multihull SL16s were participating with sailors coming from Brazil, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Denmark, Switzerland and France. Elodie WUILMART, who won of the French Youth Championship with Valentine FOURNIER earlier this summer, this time teamed up with Benjamin DUTREUX to become SL 16 World Champions. The British crew of James ELLIS and Andrew GLOVER, bronze medallists at this year's Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship, finished just behind the French pair to take the World Championship silver medal and also secure the youth title. Charles HANNEVILLE and Hubert SAVATIER from Le Havre, France completed the podium.

During this last day of the SL 16 World Championship, famous sailors came to race the "Champions Cup" on the SL 16 (the crews consisted of one 'star' and one member of the crews at the SL16 Worlds). Billy BESSON, 2008 European Championship runner up in the Tornado won this special race followed by Franck DAVID (windsurfing gold medal winner at the Barcelona Olympic Games). Other famous names competing were Matthieu FEURPRIER, skipper of Penduick, and also Bruno PEYRON and Esperanza PEREZ the two guest stars of the championship.

The World Championship Ceremony was closed by PEYRON, PEREZ and Gérard PETITPAS in honour of Eric TABARLY and Yves LODAY (gold medallist at the Olympic Games on Tornado in 1992 and architect of the SL 16).

Results - click here
ISAF (source: SL16 World Championship)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM