The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 September 2005, 12:24 pm
DUNSTAN Retains Title
No ALT tag specified

Rutgerson Deck Hardware Australian Match Racing Championships 2005
Pittwater, Australia

Michael DUNSTAN and his crew of Murray WALTERS, Ben LAMB and Simon REFFOLD from the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron have won the 2005 Rutgerson Deck Hardware Australian Match Racing Championships.
DUNSTAN defeated early series favourites Seve JARVIN, Steve JARVIN, Sam NEWTON and Ben 'Felix' CROUCHER 2-0 from the Cruising Yacht Club NSW in the best of three final. Third place went to RSYS's Mark DORLING, Nathan OUTTERIDGE, Hugh TATE and Ian QUARTLY.

Whilst the wind strength was good at 15 - 22kts, the W to N direction played havoc with the Race Committee and competitors. PRO Denis THOMPSON, an ISAF International Race Officer, warned competitors at the morning briefing 'it will be NW with big shifts' and he was not wrong!

There was drama before the boats even left the Royal Prince Alfred dock when one of Torvar MIRSKY's WA crew discovered a scoring error in yesterdays results and despite a night on the town they found themselves suddenly back in race mode as they were elevated from 7th to 6th and into the repechage, unfortunately at the expense of Pat Langley who was about to push off the dock. Race officials considered an abbreviated format but in the end decided to push on full speed and attempt to complete the original format.

JARVIN emerged from the repechage with the first finals berth leaving DUNSTAN and Dorling to a sudden death fight over the other one as time ran short. It took four attempts to get that match away as mark layer Ted Anderson called 40 degree wind shifts from the top mark. In the first heat of the best of three final JARVIN incurred a pre-start penalty and in the tacking duel which ensued up the first beat he fell foul of Rule 13 incurring another (now immediate) penalty. He was unable to recover from this position.

Half way into the prestart of the second deciding heat, JARVIN's bowman called for the pin, but DUNSTAN had also seen the left hand pressure coming down and led in to claim it building a 23 second lead by the top mark. By the time they got down to the bottom it had gone right 30 degrees and DUNSTAN now worked that to increase his lead. JARVIN worked hard to make small inroads in the top half of the course but was unable to prevent DUNSTAN charging down the run to the finish and his third Australian Match Racing Title. Back on the dock an elated and relieved DUNSTAN said 'its great to have won - we weren't looking too flash this morning'

There was drama in the lower sail-offs as well when as Jan SCHOLTON rounded the top mark in the gust of the day, his mast neatly folded into three sections and dropped into the bay!

In accepting the runner-up trophy from Yachting Australia CEO Phil JONES, crew Steve JARVIN said 'when you join the grey rinse set you don't get as many invites to go sailing, so I was really pleased to be here, particularly at the end when the skipper said 'you did a great job - dad''

Final Results
1. Michael Dunstan
2. Seve Jarvin
3. Mark Dorling
4. Adam Minoprio (NZL)
5. Torvar Mirsky
6. Katie Spithill
7. Keith Swinton
8. Pat Langley
9. Murray Gordon
10. Evan Walker
11. Jan Scholten
12. Matt Chew

Event Media (As Amended By ISAF), Image: Dunstan Leads Jarvin © Event Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM