The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
24 September 2005, 12:00 am
Day Of Waiting, Not Racing Brings Regatta To Conclusion
No ALT tag specified

Rolex International Women's Keelboat Championship 2005
Annapolis, Maryland, USA

After a day of waiting on the Chesapeake Bay for wind that never materialized, the Annapolis Yacht Club Race Committee concluded the 11th biennial Rolex International Women's Keelboat Championship shortly before 2:00pm. Upon the completion of racing yesterday, it was determined that Sally BARKOW (USA.) did not need to sail the 11 and final race today as she had a low enough total score in to win the regatta.
At the gala Rolex Awards ceremony held last night at the Annapolis Yacht Club, BARKOW and her crew of Debbie CAPOZZI (USA), Carrie HOWE (USA) and Annie LUSH (GBR) were presented with US SAILING's Bengt Julin Trophy and a Rolex Oyster Perpetual Stainless Steel & 18k gold Ladies Watch.

Going into today's racing, the battle seemed to be for second place. Without enough wind to settle the battle, yesterday's standings became the series final results and Cory SERTL (USA) with her team aboard Lucy, Dina KOWALYSHYN (USA), Pease GLASER (USA) and Suzy LEECH (USA), captured second place in the 42 boat fleet, with Jody SWANSON (USA) and crew Debbie PROBST, Abby RUHLMAN and Maegan RUHLMAN in third place. Fourth place was US Olympian Carol CRONIN, who sailed her Team Spidey with crew Jamie HANES (Newport, R.I.), Linda EPSTEIN and Kim COURANZ.

The top foreign skipper was New Zealand's Sharon FERRIS, who with her TeamOneNewport finished in fifth place overall.

Sixth-place was one of the regatta's standouts, Jo Ann FISHER (USA). FISHER and her crew of Emma JONES, Kiri KEY and 16-year-old Morgan WILSON made an impression on the fleet since this is FISHER'S first regatta steering a J/22 class sailboat. The top Annapolis skipper, Lorie STOUT, was awarded the City of Annapolis Trophy by Annapolis Mayor Ellen MOYER. STOUT, who sailed her boat to an impressive seventh-place overall, topped the 13 other Maryland teams competing.

Event Media (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM