The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 March 2008, 10:57 am
Night Of Celebration For BWR Crews
Skippers on stage at the prizegiving
Skippers on stage at the prizegiving

Barcelona World Race 2007-08

The prizegiving ceremony for the 18 skippers of the first edition of the Barcelona World Race came to a conclusion on Saturday night at the Auditorium of the Barcelona Forum.
A spectacular and emotional hour-long ceremony took place in the presence of the Mayor of Barcelona Jordi HEREU.

The 18 skippers were applauded on stage by a 2,500-strong audience to receive their unique trophies designed by Basque artist Martin AZUA and their share of the prize fund.

Jean-Pierre DICK (FRA) and Damian FOXALL (IRL), collected the winners' trophy after a dominant performance in Paprec-Virbac 2.

"From the first day this race was announced the concept appealed for Damian and me," said DICK. "It is a great race - physically hard, demanding teamwork - these are the two big qualities of this race. We are very happy to put our names to the first edition of the race."

Catalonian skipper Albert BARGUES (ESP), Educacion Sin Fronteras, received a standing ovation from the home crowd after he dedicated their race to the 80 million children worldwide who still do not receive any formal education. Pre-race favourites Vincent RIOU and Sébastien JOSSE (FRA) received a big cheer, some small compensation for being forced to retire from the race just before Cape of Good Hope, and looked genuinely pleased by the audience's appreciation. The Spanish pairing of Javier SANSÓ and Pachi RIVERO (ESP) naturally received the biggest cheer of the evening as this popular duo took to the stage to receive their trophies.

The prizegiving ceremony brings to a close the first edition of the double-handed Barcelona World Race. The second edition of the race starts winter 2010.

Barcelona World Race Final Results
Pstn. Boat / Skippers / Elapsed Time

1. Paprec-Virbac 2 / Jean-Pierre DICK (FRA) and Damian FOXALL (IRL) / 92d 9h 49m 49s
2. Hugo Boss / Alex THOMSON (GBR) and Andrew CAPE (AUS) / 94d 17h 34m 57s
3. Temenos II / Dominique WAVRE (SUI) and Michèle PARET (FRA) / 98d 6h 9m 10s
4. Mutua Madrilena / Javier SANSO (ESP) and Pachi RIVERO (ESP) / 99d 12h 18m 40s
5. Educacion Sin Fronteras / Servane ESCOFFIER (FRA) and Albert BARGUÉS (ESP) / 108d 18h 55m 2s

RET. PRB / Vincent RIOU (FRA) and Sébastien JOSSE (FRA) / 8.12.07 after 28 days of racing loses top 3 metres of mast
RET. Delta Dore / Jéremie BEYOU (FRA) and Sidney GAVIGNET (FRA) / 11.12.07 after 31 days of racing dismasts
RET. Estrella Damm / Guillermo ALTADILL (ESP) and Jonathan MCKEE (USA) / 14.12.07 on day 34 citing rudder and technical problems
RET. Veolia Environnement / Roland JOURDAIN (FRA) and Jean-Luc NÉLIAS (FRA) / 17.12.07 after 37 days of racing dismasts

Barcelona World Race Stage Winners
Gate / winning boat

Gate 1 - Start to Gibraltar: Paprec-Virbac 2
Gate 2 - Gibraltar to Canary Islands : Delta Dore
Gate 3 - Canary Islands to Fernando de Noronha : PRB
Gate 4 - Fernando de Noronha to Cape of Good Hope : Hugo Boss
Gate 5 - Cape of Good Hope to Cook Strait (NZL) : Paprec-Virbac 2
Gate 6 - Cook Strait to Cape Horn : Mutua Madrilena
Gate 7 - Cape Horn to Fernando de Noronha : Temenos II
Gate 8 - Fernando de Noronha to Gibraltar : Temenos II
Gate 9 - Gibraltar to Barcelona : Temenos II

Barcelona World Race -

Barcelona World Race (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM