The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 November 2008, 10:29 am
Louis Vuitton Pacific Series Confirms 12 Teams
Emirates Team New Zealand NZL84 leads BMW Oracle Racing USA87 during Louis Vuitton Act 12
Boats from Emirates Team New Zealand and BMW Oracle Racing will be used for the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series

Louis Vuitton Pacific Series 2009
Auckland, New Zealand

At the New Zealand Embassy on Thursday, Louis Vuitton announced the names of the 12 teams from 11 countries which will compete in the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series in Auckland, New Zealand next February.
The New Zealand Ambassador, Her Excellency Sarah DENNIS, joined Yves CARCELLE, Chairman & CEO of Louis Vuitton, in welcoming the participation of all the teams.

The aim of the regatta is to allow all former Louis Vuitton Cup competitors to get back on the water and compete in a friendly match race series. When the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series was announced last September, 23 teams expressed their interest.

Fourteen teams have confirmed they want to compete. With the number of participants being limited to 12, the last two entries have been placed on a waiting list. If, in the next month, one or more teams drop out, the teams in waiting will have the opportunity to fill the vacancy.

"The success of the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series has exceeded our expectations. We are pleasantly surprised that the announcement of this event has created a sense of excitement and conciliation in the world of the America's Cup," said CARCELLE.

The teams will now start their preparations. They will arrive in Auckland on 23 January in order to familiarize themselves with the boats, which have been loaned for the regatta by BMW Oracle Racing and Emirates Team New Zealand. Two weeks of match racing competition begins on 30 January.

Bruno TROUBLÉ, spokesperson for Louis Vuitton, said that the gathering of international teams and sailors which will convene in Auckland for the Louis Vuitton Pacific Series is one of the most impressive ever brought together.

The Louis Vuitton Pacific Series is being organized in association with the New Zealand Government, Emirates Team New Zealand, the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, Auckland City and Sky City Entertainment Group.

A representative from each of the teams travelled to Paris this week in order to attend a meeting organised in preparation of this event.

Alinghi, winner of the 31st and 32nd America's Cup, is one of the confirmed participants.

Six daily match races are planned on short windward-leeward courses laid at the entrance to Auckland's Waitemata Harbour, between Rangitoto Island and the city foreshore. There will be a daily draw to decide which yacht competing teams will sail that day.

Louis Vuitton Pacific Series
(By order of entry)

Emirates Team New Zealand - New Zealand
Luna Rossa - Italy
BMW Oracle - USA
K-Challenge - France
Mascalzone Latino - Italy
Team Origin - Great Britain
China Team - China
Team Shosholoza - South Africa
Italia - Vasco VASCOTTO (ITA) - Italy
Team Germany - Germany
Greek Challenge - Greece
Alinghi - Switzerland

Waiting list:

Italia - Francesco DE ANGELIS (ITA) - Italy
Team French Spirit - Marc PAJOT (FRA) - France

Click here for all the news relating to the 33rd America's Cup.

Keith Taylor (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM