The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
18 July 2008, 05:00 pm
Medals Decided At Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship
Germ?n BILLOCH and Gast?n Cheb TERRAB
Germán BILLOCH and Gastón Cheb TERRAB of Argentina won the silver medal in the Boy's 29er

Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship 2008
Århus, Denmark

Great Britain topped the medal table as the podium positions were decided on the final day of racing at the 2008 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship in Århus, Denmark.
On the final day of the 38th championship all the medal positions bar the Boy's 29er fleet remained the same from yesterday's leaderboard. Argentines German BILLOCH and Gaston CHEB TERRAB clinched a win in the last race of the series pushing the American's Judge RYAN and Hans HENKEN into bronze position.

An elated TERRAB explained, "I am really, really happy to get a silver medal here. We had a bad start but we took the right hand side and had great speed. We kept looking for the gusts and when we tacked over we were in front of everyone, including the British boys. We always had speed today and just maintained our lead. USA got a sixth in the race which was enough for us to jump up."

The GBR boys James PETERS and Edward FITZGERALD posted a fourth today but after the disqualification of the Americans from one of yesterday's race they were never going to be caught. A delighted PETERS said, "It's a dream come true really. It's just so good that all the hard work we put in and all the hours in January in the freezing cold have finally paid off. It's just great that we could make it count in this event."

FITZGERALD added, "When I started sailing with James, ever since then everything's been towards it [winning the Youth Worlds], so I can't really believe it yet."

The Volvo Trophy went to Britain but the fight for second place was a close fought one with New Zealand pipping Australia to the post with only two points separating them.

"To come out here and win two gold medals, a bronze medal, win the Volvo Trophy and to also finish topping the medal table, we've got to be pleased with that," said Simon Wergen, RYA Youth Racing Manager. He explained that teamwork was key to the British success, "We have really sailed as a team here and when people have needed to post results to score us points in the Volvo Trophy standings, they went out and did it."

Helping Britain to win the Volvo trophy was the Girl's 29er team of Frances PETERS and Claire LASKO who came second in today's race and were very pleased with their consistency throughout the event. PETERS commented, "We are the most pleased about this win than any other competition and winning the Volvo Trophy for the GBR Team is a bonus."

Dutch team Annemiek BEKKERING and Jeske KISTERS pushed the Brits the whole way through the series to win the silver medal with Hannah NATTRASS and Michelle MULLER of Australia winning their second consecutive bronze medal.

In the SL16 fleet the focus was on the battle for silver and bronze after French brothers Valentin BELLET and Romain BELLET had secured overall victory yesterday. The Australian team of Jason WATERHOUSE and Lisa DARMANIN were fast starters and lead around the course to score their first bullet of the championship and move up to sixth place overall. Of the four teams who had a shot at a medal, Singapore put in the best performance with a second place but it was not quite enough. The young South African team of helm Matthew WHITEHEAD, aged 14, and Micheal OVENSTONE, aged 17, scored their worst result of the regatta with a tenth place finish, but crucially their closest challengers for second place overall, the British team of James ELLIS and Andrew GLOVER were only one place ahead. This gave WHITEHEAD and OVENSTONE the silver medal, whilst ELLIS and GLOVER won bronze on countback from Singaporeans Wen Chun LOW and Jonathan Russel CHEW.

Although narrowly missing out on the medals, the Singapore team will not leave Århus empty handed. They won the Bengt Julin Trophy for Sportsmanship, re-introduced at this year's championship and voted for by other teams and competitors. The team won this for their friendly attitude and helpful manner with everyone at the championships, especially the Athlete Participation Programme (APP) sailors.

Team Cyprus has only three competitors in the championships, making their two gold medals, one by Pavlos KONTIDES in the Laser and the other in the Boy's RS:X fleet by Michalis Malekkides, even more impressive. KONTIDES won his last race and straight after praised his team for doing so well. "I can't believe that we won two gold medals it is great for a country as small as mine that we have two World Champions at this event. I hope this makes more people start sailing at home. It still hasn't sunk in yet and I can't believe I have won two golds."

Luke LAWRENCE (USA) did not sail today knowing he had done enough to secure silver yesterday from New Zealander Sam MEECH in bronze position. Århus local Thorbjoern SCHIERUP (DEN) pushed himself to the limit to try and catch MEECH but later admitted that he went too far and got a yellow flag for an incident in the only race of the day.

In the Laser Radial fleet Gabrielle KING (AUS) still went out today to try and retain Team Australians position in the Volvo Trophy standings and won her race but unfortunately it was not enough to secure a second for them. Susana ROMERO of Spain posted a third in the last race which won her the silver medal with New Zealand's Cushla HUME-MERRY in bronze position.

There was no change at the top of the Girl's RS:X with Polish windsurfer Maja DZIARNOWSKA posting a first today and Patricia FREITAS (BRA) close behind her in second, but this was not enough for the Brazilian to steal silver from her. Laura LINARES (ITA) said her third gold medal win had still not sunk in, "I still can't believe it, it is wonderful!"

Cypriot Michalis MALEKKIDES in the RS:X was beaten by both the Greek Thiseas KAMPAS and German competitor, Oliver-Tom SCHLIEMANN today but it did not change his gold medallist position. KAMPAS retained his silver medal while SCHLIEMANN, despite winning the race had to settle for bronze.

The competitors will be awarded their medals and trophies at the Closing Ceremony at the Musikhuset in Århus tonight, bringing the 2008 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championships to a close. Next year's event will be held in Buzios, Brazil on 9-18 July 2009.

For Live online tracking of the races from Sportcasting click here

Click here to get the latest video podcast from the Volvo Youth Sailing World Championship

Results - click on the links below for the latest results

Boy's One Person Dinghy - Laser
Girl's One Person Dinghy - Laser Radial
Boy's Two Person Dinghy - 29er
Girl's Two Person Dinghy - 29er
Boy's Windsurfer - RS:X
Girl's Windsurfer - RS:X
Multihull - SL16

Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship microsite -

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM