The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
10 December 2008, 08:19 pm
Nominees Announced for US SAILING's Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards
The 2007 Award winners
The 2007 Award winners Jeff LINTON, centre left and Sally BARKOW, centre right


Joining the year-end "best of" lists is US SAILING's short list of nominees for the 2008 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards.
Established in 1961 by US SAILING and sponsored by Rolex Watch, U.S.A. since 1980, the annual presentation of US SAILING's Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards are widely regarded as the sport's ultimate recognition of an individual's outstanding on-the-water achievements for the calendar year. Over its history the coveted award has been presented to 36 men and 32 women, including these notable sailors who have claimed the honour multiple times: Ed ADAMS, Betsy ALISON, Sally BARKOW, Dennis CONNER, JJ ISLER, Allison JOLLY, John KOSTECKI, Buddy MELGES, Ken READ, Lynne SHORE, Jody SWANSON and Ted TURNER.

Nominees for US SAILING's 2008 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year award:

Ethan BIXBY (St. Petersburg, Fla.) - 505 East Coast and Midwinter Champion
Greg FISHER (Annapolis, Md./Columbus, Ohio) - J/22 World Champion
Bill HARDESTY (San Diego, Calif.) - Etchells World Champion
Paul FOERSTER (Heath, Texas) - Sunfish World Champion
Terry HUTCHINSON (Annapolis, Md.) - TP52 World Champion
Zach RAILEY (Clearwater, Fla.) - Finn Olympic silver medallist
Peter REBOVICH (Metuchen, New Jersey) - Newport Bermuda Race winner
Nick SCANDONE (Fountain Valley, Calif.) - SKUD18 Paralympic gold medallist
Allan TERHUNE (Annapolis, Md.) - Lightning North American Champion

Nominees for US SAILING's 2008 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year award:

Isabelle KINSOLVING (New York, N.Y.) - 470 Women's World Champion
Erin MAXWELL (Stonington/Norwalk, Conn.) - 470 Women's World Champion
Maureen MCKINNON-TUCKER (Marblehead, Mass.) - SKUD18 Paralympic gold medallist
Molly O'BRYAN VANDEMOER (San Diego, Calif.) - U.S. Women's Match Racing Champion
Anna TUNNICLIFFE (Plantation, Fla.) - Laser Radial Olympic gold medallist

For additional information on the accomplishments of each nominee this year, please visit

The nominees will be reviewed by a panel of noted sailing journalists who discuss the merits of each nominee and vote to determine US SAILING's 2008 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year. The winners will be announced in January and honoured on 27 February 2009, during a luncheon at the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan, when they will be presented with Rolex timepieces.
Marlieke Eaton
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM