The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 May 2008, 02:07 pm
Irish Olympic Team Selected
Peter O'LEARY and Stephen MILNE
Peter O'LEARY and Stephen MILNE at the 2008 Star Worlds in Miami

2008 Beijing Olympic Games

Star sailors Peter O'LEARY and Stephen MILNE have been recommended to the Olympic Council of Ireland (OCI) completing the Irish sailing team for the 2008 Olympic Games.
Ireland has secured places in four of the 11 Olympic sailing events (Star, Finn, Men's 470 and Laser Radial) and the selection of the Star crew completes their provision line up. The Irish Sailing Association (ISA) had already nominated Ciara PEELO (Laser Radial), Timothy GOODBODY (Finn) and Ger OWENS and Phil LAWTON (Men's 470) to the OCI.

On 1 May the ISA board unanimously accepted the recommendation of the Olympic Steering Group (OSG) to nominate Peter O'LEARY and Stephen MILNE following their exceptional campaign.

The OSG met on 30 April to select a crew for the Star class following the recent successful Star World Championship in Miami, USA at which Ireland secured a nation place at the 2008 Beijing Games. Along with O'LEARY and MILNE, the other crews in contention were Max TREACY and Anthony SHANKS and IRLMO1 and Ben COOKE.

Colm BARRINGTON, Chairman of the OSG, commented, "The three crews in contention for the place demonstrated enormous skill and great determination in their campaigns. While it is very disappointing for the two crews who miss out, the OSG unanimously selected O'LEARY and MILNE. They have demonstrated that they have the best chance of success in the Olympic regatta in 2008".

James O'Callaghan, ISA Performance Director, stated, "Obviously we were delighted with the performances of all three crews throughout the campaign. They all knew the selection process in advance and the competition between them drove them all to strong performances."

Ireland Olympic Team

Event Equipment Sailors
Women's One Person Dinghy Laser Radial Ciara PEELO
Men's Windsurfer Men's RS:X Not qualified
Women's Windsurfer Women's RS:X Not qualified
Men's Two Person Dinghy Men's 470 Ger OWENS and Phil LAWTON
Women's Two Person Dinghy Women's 470 Not qualified
Multihull Tornado Not qualified
Heavyweight Dinghy Finn Timothy GOODBODY
Women's Keelboat Yngling Not qualified
Skiff 49er Not qualified
Men's One Person Dinghy Laser Not qualified
Men's Keelboat Star Peter O'LEARY and Stephen MILNE

ISAF Olympic Games microsite -

Bernadette Fox (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM