The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 October 2002, 12:06 pm
Alinghi Vs. GBR Challenge - Resail Granted
No ALT tag specified

America's Cup

Following Alinghi’s victory over GBR Challenge yesterday in light winds on the Hauraki Gulf, the British syndicate have been granted a resail with the Swiss, after a request for redress by GBR Challenge.
Wight Lightning, GBR Challenge's yacht, showed the red flag as she crossed the arrival line 7 minutes and 45 seconds behind Alinghi on October 30. The British Team said they were a victim of unfair treatment, because of changes of course due to wind shifts.

In the press conference following racing, Ian Walker, GBR Challenge skipper said. There's a number of errors ranging from where the course area was, the length of the course, as well as procedural errors" he then followed on to note. "Correct me if I'm wrong but it's probably the first America's Cup race that's gone round an island since 1851."

Tonight, the international jury judged that the Race Committee had made an error and decided that the match should be re-raced, for the following reasons:

-One of the course marks, as well as the finish line, was established out of the perimeter considered as the race area.

-Legs 2 and 3 were shorter than the 3 nautical Miles required. Alinghi crossed the finish line 1 minute 40 seconds before the time limit. She may not have made it if the legs had been 3 nautical Miles long.

Speaking after the Jury decision, Alinghi Tactician noted. " We feel that the results weren't affected by the change in course but obviously we have to abide by the Race Committees decision. This means we will re-race GBR Challenge on Saturday and we will be happy to meet them on the race course again."

A re-race is to be held on Saturday the 2nd of November.

ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM