The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 October 2002, 11:53 am
Event Concludes
No ALT tag specified

Snipe Women's and Master's World Championship

Carolyn Krebs and Julie Redler of San Diego, California sailed a consistent series holding off the competition to win the Roy Yamaguchi Memorial trophy for the fifth Snipe Women’s World Championship.
Women's Worlds

Competition was close with 5 people able to win the title going in to the last day. On the last beat of the final race, the top 3 sailors changed positions with the ultimate decision made at the finish line.

St. Petersburg Yacht Club in Florida ran a remarkable event in breezy conditions of 8-18 knots with 7 completed races. 8 nations were represented in the 16 boat fleet

Masters Worlds

Augie Diaz wins Triple Crown!

Augie Diaz of Miami, Florida won the World Masters Championship giving him the triple crown for the year as US National, Western Hemisphere & Orient and now World Masters Champion! Augie sailed with a different crew for each event, but managed to claim each title decidedly.

60 teams from 12 countries arrived in St. Petersburg, Florida and were divided in to 3 divisions. The Snipes have it all figured out… a Master skipper must be 45 years with a combined 80 years in the boat. There are 3 divisions within the Masters; apprentice (45-54 years) master (55-64 years) and grand master (65 and older.) So the older a skipper, the younger the crew, and some of the grand masters took full advantage of the rule!

With the regatta held immediately following the Women's, the masters found the women had used up all the breeze. Only 4 races were able to be sailed, with the breeze in the 4-8 knot range. Social events were key and many teams from years ago re-joined to compete at the top level.

Sailors are looking forward the 2004 World Masters to be held in Lake Bracciano, Italy.

Overall Top Three

Apprentice division (45-54 years)

1. Augie Diaz & John Kehoe, USA
2. Sherry Welch & George Szabo, USA
3. Birger Jansen & Jeanette Shouten, NOR

Masters division (55-64 years)

1. Colin Park & Karen Park, USA
2. Jerry Thompson & Kimmie Isobie, USA
3. Terry Timm & Jerelyn Biehl, USA

Grand Masters (65 and older)

1. Bibi Juetz & Dante Bianchi, BRA
2. Gonzalo Diaz, Sr. & Martin Hermida, USA
3. Sam Mollet & George Bothwell, USA
Jerelyn Biehl
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM