The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 October 2002, 11:58 am
Semi-Final Decided
No ALT tag specified
Elizabeth Kratzig (USA)©Sergio Dionisio/Oceanfashion

Bermuda Women's Match Race Championship

Four of the eight international skippers gathered here for the Bermuda International Women’s Match Racing Championship have advanced into the semi-final round and are one step closer to the $15,000 prize money and a shot in the upcoming Bermuda Gold Cup.
Bermuda's Paula Lewin retained her lead on the fleet, gaining an additional two wins today and will draw her competitor from the remaining three advancing skippers: World No. 1 Marie Bjorling, Dutch sailor Klaartje Zuiderbaan and American Debbie Wililts.

"We were happy to get a win in our first match, but the second one was a little tougher," said Lewin about her match against Willits. "We tried to get an edge against Debbie, but couldn't. She just sailed a little cleaner."

Lotte Pedersen (DEN), who was also undefeated going into today's final three matches in this inaugural Grade 1 event, lost all three of her pairings. It was a tough day for Pedersen, who is ranked third in the world, as she will now go home.

"We had a tough day, it's true," said Pedersen. "All three of our matches were tough and we are disappointed to not advance."

The skipper many of the spectators are talking about this week is match-racing newcomer Debbie Willits, who sees this event as another learning experience. "We got in by the skin of our teeth," she joked. "To have beaten Paula was a real surprise."

The winner and runner-up will advance into the Qualifying Round of the Bermuda Gold Cup, the fourth event on the Swedish Match Tour, scheduled to begin on Wednesday. They will join the remaining six selected unseeded skippers and the eight seeded skippers in round one of the Bermuda Gold Cup.

Round Robin Resulte


Skipper Nation Win Loss
Paula Lewin BER 6 1 Q
Marie Bjorling USA 5 2 Q
Klaartje Zuiderbaan NED 4 3 Q
Deborah Willits USA 4 3 Q
Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen DEN 4 3
Liz Baylis USA 3 4
Elizabeth Kratzig USA 2 5
Sandy Hayes USA 0 7
Dana Paxton/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM