The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 October 2002, 10:27 am
Six Skippers Qualify for Bermuda Gold Cup - Round 1
No ALT tag specified
Thompson (USA) leads Law (GBR)©Sergio Dionisio/Oceanfashion

Bermuda Gold Cup

Six skippers are one step closer to the $65,000 in prize money up for grabs this week in the Bermuda Gold Cup.
Round Robin racing concluded yesterday on Hamilton Harbour in the Qualifying Round and the top three skippers in each of two groups advanced into Round One, which begins on Wednesday.

In Group A, local sailor Peter Bromby (BER) and Andy Horton and Mason Woodworth (GBR) qualified, with Horton finishing on top of the group. Horton only lost once in the qualifying round to Woodworth, who needed the win to secure his advancement. "We had our best sailing of the entire regatta today," said Woodworth, who won every match yesterday as well. "It feels good to stay in Bermuda and move into the next round."

For locals Bromby and Adam Barboza, it came down to the last match to decide who would advance through and represent the home team. "It's unfortunate our success was at the expense of my friend Adam, but I'm happy with the way it ended."

In Group B, local favorite Glenn Astwood (BER) easily won his two matches against Tino Ellegast (GER) and Scott Dickson (USA), and advanced. Joining Astwood, who is sailing as Team Bacardi, are Tucker Thompson (USA), Team T2 Productions and Chris Law (GBR) and his team "The Outlaws."

The six qualified unseeded skippers will join the winner and runner-up of the Bermuda Women's Match Race Championship, as well as the eight seeded skippers in Round One of the Bermuda Gold Cup, starting today.

Results: Unseeded Skippers Qualifying Round Robin

<<p>Group A
Skipper Nation Win Loss
Andy Horton USA 6 1 Q
Mason Woodworth GBR 5 2 Q
Peter Bromby BER 5 2 Q
Adam Barboza BER 4 3
Marten Hedlund SWE 4 3
Michael Green LCA 2 5
Sally Barkow USA 2 5
Bill Buckles USA 0 7

Group B

Skipper Nation Win Loss
Glenn Astwood BER 6 1 Q
Tucker Thompson USA 6 1 Q
Chris Law GBR 4.5" 2 Q
Karl Ziegler USA 3 4
Scott Dickson USA 3 4
Andy Lovell USA 3 4
Anthony Kotoun ISV 2 5
Tino Ellegast GER 0 7
Dana Paxton/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM