The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 January 2002, 03:04 pm
Bumblebee 5 Wins Last Race Decider
No ALT tag specified

Sailing South Race Week

Bumblebee 5, yesterday dubbed the "Betsey Island Express", today became the "Derwent Dasher" after two runaway line and corrected time wins on Hobart's Derwent River on the final day of the inaugural, and highly successful Sailing South Race Week.

Bumblebee 5, owned by Sydney yachtsman John Kahlbetzer and skippered in Race Week by Roger Hickman, won a hard-fought IMS series against local Hobart yacht Invincible, skippered by Harold Clark.

The victory culminates an outstanding season by Bumblebee 5, a 62-footer designed by Murray/Burns/Dovell, in which she has won the British Trophy regatta in Sydney, the 57th Sydney Hobart Race, and now Sailing South Race Week.

Bumblebee 5 finished with 662 points, Invincible on 654.9, with third place going to T42 Solandra, skippered by another Hobart yachtsman, Craig Escott, on 643.8 points.

Another Sydney yacht, the Sydney 38, Next, skippered by David Kellett, won the IRC division, a last race win on corrected time giving her a margin of just 1.1 points from the David Lyons-designed Jarkan 38, Breakaway, skippered by Wayne Banks Smith.

Breakaway won the first race today, Next the second, with Next finishing on 659.6 points, Breakaway 658.5 points, third place overall going to the American 65-footer Icon, skippered by Jim Roser for owner Richard Robbins, on 652.2 points.

The PHS division went down to the line with Dick Knoop's fast cruising boat, Magellan, scoring a second and a third today to finish Race Week with 647.8 points to beat Farr Horizons (Colin Denny) on 641.9 points and Quetzalcoatl (Joshua Ey) on 626 points.

Quetzalcoatl won the first race today while the second race saw a fine win by prominent Hobart yachtsman David Gough, skippering his Buizen 48 cruising yacht, Eclipse to beat Magellan and Quetzalcoatl on corrected time.

Hobart turned on a day of perfect sailing for the final fifth and sixth short windward/leeward races of Race Week, with a 15-18 knot south-easterly seabreeze blowing up the Derwent River.

It as a day of hard sailing in which good crew work paid dividends, as did picking the right shifts as the fleet tacked down the river in the fresh breeze and choppy waters.

While Bumblebee 5, the recent Sydney Hobart Race overall winner, and Icon, the American pocket maxi, cleared out from the main fleet, a feature of the two races was the close competition between the larger Hobart boats, Doctor Who, Cyclone, Valheru and B52 who raced around the courses only a couple of minutes apart.

The day was not without its minor dramas, a dismasting, sails lost overboard, a series of "wineglass" spinnaker hoists, several mark rounding incidents and the occasional broach in sharp gusts.

The one dismasting was that of Muir Race, skippered by Matthew Johnston, with the mast of the Sports Boat snapping in three places as she held a commanding lead on the first downwind leg of race five.

In this race for Sports Boats, former champion Dragon class sailor Bruce Calvert took fastest time and first on corrected time in Division One with Desperado, throwing out a late challenge to the top three boats, with Another Girl Another Planet (David Shephard) and Muir Race (Matthew Johnston).

However, Another Girl Another Planet won the final race to take the series with 511.6 points, Desperado placing second on 508.4, third going to Firefall (Gundar Simsons) on 496 points.

In Division 2, Rousabout, skippered by Grahame Inglis strengthened a narrow points lead by winning race five from close rivals Saga (Kerry Boden) and Canterbury Sailing (Fred Barrett), but Saga won the final race to take the series with 507 points from Rousabout on 504.6 points, third going to Canterbury Sailing on 501.6 points.

Final placings:

IMS Division:

1 Bumblebee 5 (John Kahlbetzer/Roger Hickman, NSW) 662 pts
2 Invincible (Harold Clark, Tas) 654.9 pts
3 T42 Solandra (Craig Escott, Tas) 643.8 pts
4 B52 (Hughie Lewis, Tas) 637.7 pts
5 Vitesse (Rob Howie, NSW) 633.0 pts

IRC Division:

1 Next (David Kellett, NSW) 659.6 pts
2 Breakaway (Wayne Banks Smith, Tas) 658.5 pts
3 Icon (Richard Robbins, USA) 652.2 pts
4 Valheru (Tony Lyall, Tas) 644.9 pts

PHS Division:

1 Magellan (Dick Knoop, Tas) 647.8 pts
2 Farr Horizons (Colin Denny, Tas) 641.9 pts
3 Quetzalcoatl (Joshua Ey, Tas) 637.6 pts
4 Nortas Salmon (Alfred Doedens, Tas) 628.2 pts
5 Redback (David O'Neill, Tas) 626.0 pts

Sportsboats, Division 1:

1 Another Girl Another Planet (David Shephard, Tas) 511.6 pts
2 Desperado (Bruce Calvert, Tas) 508.4 pts
3 Firefall (Gundar Simsons, Tas) 496.0 pts
4 The Works (David Lawless, Tas) 487.2 pts

Sportsboats, Division 2:

1 Saga (Kerry Boden, Tas) 507 pts
2 Rousabout (Grahame Inglis, Tas) 504.6 pts
3 Canterbury Sailing (Fred Barrett, Tas) 501.6 pts
4 Buggbear (Ron Bugg, Tas) 494.2 pts
5 Audacity (Ian Stewart, Tas) 491.8 pts
Peter Campbell/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM