The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
17 January 2002, 09:12 am
Races Four and Five
No ALT tag specified

OK Dinghy World Championship

Day three of the OK Dinghy World Championships saw a light to moderate easterly with a tricky chop and numerous wind shifts, making testing racing for all competitors.
With a different winner in every race so far, the overall winner is by no means clear and the contest is likely to go down to the wire.

Race Four (by Thomas Hansson-Mild)

The fourth race got away at the second attempt in a light and variable breeze. The fleet divided early on with bunches going right and left. The two halves met up at the windward mark with Ian Neely (NZL) leading the bunch. The leading group had a small gap on the following fleet.

The reaches were just about surfable and everyone kept their positionsgoing into the second beat. In fact the positions remained the same at the front throughout the race, although further down the often fitful wind created some large place changes.

Ian Neely led into the finish followed by Alistair Gair and Greg Wilcox. The Korean, Jin Hong-chul, tried to find speed in the corners without success, but did move up to third place. Neely was scored OCS and the Korean was later disqualified after a rule infringment at a mark.

Results Race Four

1 Alastair Gair (NZL)
2 Greg Wilcox (NZL)
3 Thomas Hansson-Mild (SWE)
4 Jayson Herbert (NZL)
5 Jason Trow (NZL)
6 Paul Rhodes (NZL)

Race Five

Race five was sailed in slightly more breeze although just as shifty. Roger Blasse's (AUS) perfect pin end start saw him round the top mark in second place just behind Richard Barker. Blasse showed considerable speed to overtake Barker on the run and went on to win the race comfortably.

Results Race Five

1 Roger Blasse (AUS)
2 Ben Morrison (NZL)
3 Richard Barker (NZL)
4 Alastair Gair (NZL)
5 Greg Wilcox (NZL)
6 Paul Rhodes (NZL)

Robert Deaves/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM