The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 January 2002, 11:38 am
Day One
No ALT tag specified

International OK Dinghy World Championship

The 2002 OK Dinghy World Championships kicked off in fine style with two testing races in the waters off Napier, New Zealand. Offshore, unstable winds caused a large number of windshifts and many places changes throughout the racing.

The 79 boat fleet consists of competitors from 11 nations, including for the first time Korea and Singapore. Other nations competing are Australia, Belgium, Great Britian, Germany, India, Poland, Sweden as well as a strong local contingent.

Race One (by Greg Wilcox)

Jim Hong-chul (KOR) led the first race from the start from Richard Barker (NZL). Jayson Herbert (NZL) rounded the first mark third and Greg Wilcox (NZL) was fourth round. Herbert was fastest down the reaches and was second around the bottom mark. The variable wind also caused some very large windshifts. Bart Bomans (BEL) was also fast downwind and had moved up to fourth by the leeward mark, with Karsten Hitz (GER) close on his transom. Jin sailed well up the second beat and opened up a large lead followed by Richard Barker, Jayson Herbert and Greg Wilcox. The Korean went on to win comfotably from Richard and Greg with Russell Wood (NZL) just finishing ahead of Karsten Hitz (GER).


1 KOR 1 Jim Hong-chul
2 NZl 497 Richard Barker
3 NZL 512 Greg Wilcox
4 NZL 500 Russell Wood
5 GER 727 Karsten Hitz
6 NZL 499 Jayson Herbert

Race Two (by Karsten Hitz)

The Pacific Ocean is endless and we are racing in a small corner of it. At the windward mark Russell Wood was leading the fleet in front of Greg Wilcox and Karsten Hitz in third. Many changes in wind speed and direction later, Greg Wilcox and Karsten Hitz led around the last leeward mark with a comfortable lead. However a 60 degree windshift up the final beat changed the places to leave Russell Wood the winner and Jin Hong-chul in second.


1 NZl 500 Russell Wood
2 KOR 1 Jin Hong-chul
3 NZL 512 Greg Wilcox
4 GER 727 Karsten Hitz
5 NZL 511 Ben Morrisson
6 GBR 2104 Nick Craig

Positions Overall:

1 KOR 1 Jin Hong-chul
2 NZL Russell Wood
3 NZL Greg Wilcox Vet
4 GER Karsten Hitz Vet
5 NZL Richard Barker
6 SWE Thomas Hansson-Mild
7 NZL Ian Neely
8 GBR Nick Craig
9 NZL Alastair Gair
10 NZL Joe Porebski Vet
Robert Deaves/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM