The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
1 April 2002, 09:32 am
Final Day Today
No ALT tag specified
© Annemiek van Kinderen

17th International Easter Optimist Regatta - Holland

About 240 young sailors from 13 countries are competing fiercely to win this prestigious event.
The International Easter Optimist Regatta began in 1986 with 75 competitors from mostly the Nordic countries. It gave them a chance to compete in the spring while their homeports were still iced up. The first years saw a rapid growth in contenders and a maximum of 250 sailors was quickly installed. Most countries now have selection rounds to see who is good enough to compete. This year we even welcomed boats from the United States of America!

Friday afternoon the 29 of March a practice race was held to give the competitors a chance to get used to local circumstances. Saturday 30 March started with gray skies and just a very light breeze, which disappeared in the early morning. All sailors went out for the first race which was planned at 10:00hrs, but the wind died so there was no possibility at all to get a race started. At 11:00hrs the race committee decided to send the competitors back to shore to wait there for any wind to come. In the afternoon the wind picked up a little so finally at 14:40hrs we had the first start of the first race. Light and shifting winds made it difficult for all. First places in the three groups were for Mandy Mulder (Ned), Tim Saxton (GBR) and Chris Taylor (USA). A second race started just after five o'clock because wind forecasts for the rest of the weekend were not very promising. This race was shortened for every group so all tired sailors were ashore again at about 19:00hrs. Winners of the second race were Joshua Metcalfe, Alex Bunt (USA) and again Mandy Mulder (Ned).

Sunday had 3 races scheduled, after which the 3 groups for the 2 final races on Monday will be announced. These 2 final races will give us the winner of the 17th International Easter Optimist Regatta to whom last year's victor Corentin Demanet (Belgium) will then be handing over his crown.

Top 10 After 6 Races
Seq Sailno Name Scores 1 2 3 4 5
1 NED 2447 Fevre Steven le 6,0 2 2 1 1 (7)
2 NED 2373 Mulder Mandy 8,0 1 1 3 3 (bfd)
3 USA 8666 Campbell Alan 12,0 3 (15) 6 2 1
4 NED 2220 Bekker Lars 13,0 (9) 7 1 1 4
5 GBR 5048 Joshua Metcalfe 13,0 3 1 5 (6) 4
6 GBR 4962 James Murdock 21,0 11 3 5 2 (31)
7 GBR 5066 Richard Mason 24,0 (12) 12 8 2 2
8 NED 2334 Pelt Gijs 24,0 2 10 8 4 (27)
9 SWE 3782 Oscar Taurell 24,0 6 7 2 9 (22)
10 SWE 3802 Viktor Bergstrom 24,0 5 3 5 (12) 11

Event Media/ISAF Secretariat
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM