The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 August 2002, 03:51 pm
Nominations Invited
No ALT tag specified

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2002

The presentation of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2002, the pinnacle award of recognition in the sport of sailing, will take place on Tuesday 12 November 2002 in Limassol, Cyprus.
2002, which sees the ninth anniversary of the inauguration of the Awards in 1994, will honour two more illustrious sailors as they are added to the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year winners' rollcall.

The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are presented annually to recognise the outstanding sailing achievements of male and female sailors, as nominated and voted by the world of sailing. The process of determining the winners is based on an initial nomination process, from which a final shortlist is then drawn up, with the winners being confirmed by votes from the sailing world.

Past winners embody the diversity and spread of the sport, both geographically and in the sailing disciplines they represent, and 2002 will be no different.

As in past years, ISAF anticipates nominated sailors representing all the disciplines of our sport from dinghies to offshore, windsurfers to multihulls. The achievements of sailors may be as diverse as a record breaking passage, a series of regatta wins over the year, triumph against the odds or any other "outstanding achievement". Such successes, and more, have been witnessed during the past year and it is now up to the sailing world to nominate the sailors they feel are meritorious of the accolade ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2002.

ISAF welcomes Nominations for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2002 from all persons - whether you are a sailor, class, national authority, media, sailing club, event organiser - all are welcome. Nominations should be made on the official Nomination Form available from the ISAF Website at:

In nominating sailors, please bear in mind the importance and eminence of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards, in that they are awarded for truly "outstanding achievement". Nominations will close at 1000 hours GMT on Monday 2 September 2002.

Each year ISAF receives a considerable number of nominations and the daunting task of determining the final shortlist is charged to a Shortlist Panel chaired by ISAF President of Honour, HM King Constantine. The shortlist having been determined, it is the responsibility of the Member National Authorities to cast their vote to confirm the respective male and female winners, thus ensuring that the winners are truly determined by popular vote.

The winners of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award 2002 will be announced and presented with their awards at the prestigious Awards Ceremony on 12 November 2002 in Limassol, Cyprus. The winners will be presented with a stunning marble and silver trophy, with a solid marble sphere depicting the world and crowned by five silver spinnakers representing the continents. A Rolex timepiece will also be placed on the wrists of the male and female sailors accorded the honour ISAF Rolex World Sailors of the Year 2002.

Past Winners:
The nominees and winners over past years reflect many of the highest achievers in the sport, with the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year winners' roll call reading:

Robert Scheidt (BRA)
Ellen MacArthur (GBR)

Mark Reynolds/Magnus Liljedahl (USA)
Shirley Robertson (GBR)

Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL)
Margriet Matthijse (NED)

Ben Ainslie (GBR)
Carolijn Brouwer (NED)

Pete Goss (GBR)
Ruslana Taran/Elena Pakholchik (UKR)

Jochen Schümann (GER)
Lee-Lai Shan (HKG)

Russell Coutts (NZL)
Isabelle Autissier (FRA)

Peter Blake (NZL)/Robin Knox Johnston (GBR)
Theresa Zabell (ESP)
ISAF Secretariat
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM