The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
26 August 2002, 07:01 pm
Allen (AUS) and Horwood (GBR) Win
No ALT tag specified
Allen (AUS), Brzozowski (POL) and Rogild (DEN)

IFCA Funboard World Championship

Steve Allen (AUS) and Lucy Horwood (GBR) won the IFCA Funboard World Championship that concluded yesterday.
Racing was only possible on the first day of the championship unfortunately due to the light wind conditions all week. On two days the wind looked like it might reach the seven knot minimum wind speed, but it never quite got there.

Therefore the championship was decided over four races on day one, with the deserved champions in the men's and women's fleet proving themselves superior in the stronger wind conditions for those four races.

Steve Allen (AUS) is certainly the man of the moment on the Formula windsurfing scene, by wrapping up this combined IFCA World Championship and Euro Cup he has won the Formula Windsurfing Euro Cup series of events overall. In fact the top three results in the men's fleet mimicked the overall results for the Euro Cup for 2002 with Wojtek Brzozowki (POL) in second, and Brian Rogild (DEN) in third position.

Lucy Horwood (GBR) has been establishing herself as consistently the fastest in stronger wind conditions this year, often beating many of the guys, and this certainly helped give her the edge at this championship. In second finished Cindy Koopman (NED), her win in race four giving her the edge over Christine Johnston (GBR).

The final and most important event of the year for Formula Windsurfers are the class World Championships, which will take place in Sylt, Germany from 21 - 26 September. Competitiors have just over one month to prepare to take to the water to fight it out for the ultimate Formula Windsurfing title, that of Formula Windsurfing World Champion.


1 AUS-0 Steve Allen 2 2 OCS 0.7 4.7 pts Fanatic, Benzacne, Rip Curl, Deboichet, Liberty

2 POL-10 Wojtek Brozowski 0.7 9 0.7 6 7.4 pts Era, Toyota, NeilPryde, Starboard, Deboichet

3 DEN-173 Brian Rogild 3 6 2 15 11.0 pts Quicksilver, Starboard, Deboichet, Gaastra

4 ISR-1 Arnon Dagan 5 3 3 OCS 11.0 pts Red Bull, Fanatic, Deboichet, Neil Pryde, C. Surftorbole

5 NED-57 Ben Van Der Steen 10 0.7 5 14 15.7 pts Fanatic, Neil Pryde, Oxbow, Deboichet

6 POL-127 Jarek Miarczynski 6 7 DNC 3 16.0 pts Hestia, Quicksilver, Maui Magic

7 DEN-111 Jesper Vesterstrom 8 5 19 8 21.0 pts Ford Credet, Vergabond, Helle Reklame

8 FRA-83 Yannick Renard 9 11 6 7 22.0 pts Exocet, Neil Pryde

9 ARG-3 Gonzalo Costa Hoevel 12 OCS 10 2 24.0 pts Neil Pryde, Starboard

9 NED-72 Ramses Landman OCS 4 15 5 24.0 pts F2, Neil Pryde, North Shore, Zembla


1 GBR-95 Lucy Horwood 0.7 0.7 0.7 3 2.1 pts AHD, Gaastra, Sola,

2 NED-166 Cindy Koopman 2 3 3 0.7 5.7 pts Fanatic, Kater Surf, Aannemersbedrijf E. Koopman

3 GBR-93 Christine Johnston 3 2 2 2 6.0 pts Neil Pryde, Contessa, Deboichet

4 NED-335 Wendy Littel 4 6 DNC 4 14.0 pts Denmar Design, Fanatic, Extremity

5 BEL-405 Corrine Piquet 6 7 4 5 15.0 pts Malice, Starboard, DeWeerdt, Aerotech

News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM