The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 December 2002, 01:42 pm
Hannan Claims First State Championship
No ALT tag specified
©Frank Quealey

Australian 18 Footers League
Sydney, NSW

Tony Hannan, Cameron McDonald and Greg Windust racing on Total Recall have taken out the New South Wales State Championship for the Australian 18 Footers League. This title is Tony Hannan's first in the 18 Footer Championships.
Last weekend saw the final event in the series with Current titleholder John Harris on Rag and Famish facing an uphill struggle to retain his title after some bad luck over the previous two weeks.

In a series that saw Michael Coxon on Casio Seapathfinder leading the points going into the last weekend, it all came down to the last race. Tony Hannan was able to get a lead from the start of the race with Michael Coxon and Trevor Barnabas on Omega Smeg in a very close second and third.

Coxon had to come third or better to hold onto the first place but on the last beat he sailed into a hole near Bradleys Head and gave John Winning on Yandoo the opportunity to increase his third place.

There was an unfortunate collision between a recreational boat and Computer Associates causing the spinnaker pole to be broken from the bow of the boat.

This championship is the lead up event to the JJ Giltinan in January 2003 with all the Australian boats now competing against crews from USA, Great Britain, Italy, Canada and New Zealand for the JJ Giltinan Trophy. Last year's winner Howie Hamlin currently competing in the 505 Worlds in Perth will be back to defend his title.

The JJ Giltinan International Trophy will commence on 4 January with a spectator ferry out watching the action each day.

Overall Results

Position Final point score Skipper Total Points
1 Total Recall Tony Hannan 17.7
2 Casio Seapathfinder Michael Coxon 19
3 Omega Smeg Trevor Barnabas 22.7
4 Aristocrat Gary Phillips 29.4
5 Yandoo John Winning 35.7
6 Rat and Famish Hotel John Harris 37
7 Express Post Hugh Stodart 45
8 Avaya Peter Morrison 48.7
9 Sunday Telegraph Clynton Wade-Lehman 50.7
10 Computer Associates Jack Young 51.7
11 Churchill's Sports Bar Ben Austin 63
12 Team Rollerson Grant Rollerson 63
13 Terry Hogan Prestige Cars Chris Dixon 71
14 Asko Appliances David Lumb 72.7
15 Rosemount Micah Lane 76

Event Media/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM