The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
7 March 2002, 09:30 pm
Reynolds and Liljedahl Lead
No ALT tag specified
Reynolds Liljedahl (USA)

Bacardi Cup

Results of two and one on Day Four, and another win in the only race completed yesterday have put Reynolds and Liljedahl (USA) in the lead overall at the Bacardi Cup with an impressive score of 5 points from five races.
After another day of close racing out on Biscayne Bay, the lead changed again, with the 2000 Olympic Gold Medallists in the Star class, Mark Reynolds and Magnus Liljedahl, winning their third race of the series to take the overall lead by 17 points from Paul Cayard and Phil Trinter.
Previous regatta leaders, Jose Van Der Ploeg (POR), the 1992 Olympic Finn-class Gold Medallist and crew Diego Fructuoso (POR), scored a black flag disqualification for starting prematurely and dropped down into third place overall.

Conditions in the Bay were fluky with a 40 degree wind shift on the second beat, which turned the fleet inside out, this added to a light wind of 2-4 knots, made for interesting racing. RYA team GBR sailor and 2000 Olympic Gold Medallist, Iain Percy sailing with 1997 Etchells World Champion, Steve Mitchell, got caught the wrong side of the shift along with many other big names, and finished in 35th positon.

Teammate and fellow Olympic Silver Medallist, Ian Barker and crew Ed Peel (GBR), were back out on the water yesterday after having to retire the day before to avoid sinking, due to being 'holed' whilst lying in 7th place at the time.

"We were third round the windward mark in yesterdays race, then a 40 degree shift on the second beat nailed us, we dropped down to about 30th and eventually finished 26th in 2-4 knots of breeze". Commented Ian Barker on the days racing.

With one race left to sail it looks like the 2000 Olympic Medallists, Mark Reynolds and Magnus Liljedahl, may have the better of the 99 boat fleet, but judging by how the racing has gone so far, anything could still happen. The Bacardi Cup concludes today and the team with the lowest overall score wins the Trofeo Bacardi, filled with rum.

Position Crew Nation Race Race Race Race Race Total
1 2 3 4 5
1 Mark Reynolds & Magnus Liljedahl USA -23 1 2 1 1 5
2 Paul Cayard & Phil Trinter USA 10 (100\OCS) 4 6 2 22
3 Jose Van Der Ploeg & Diego Fructuoso ESP 9 3 7 5 (100\BFD) 24
4 Augie Diaz & Christian Finnsgard USA -16 14 8 3 8 33
5 John A. MacCausland & Sean Delaney USA 7 4 11 11 -39 33
6 Alfonso Domingos & Bernardo Santos POR 3 9 -24 19 4 35
7 Iain Percy & Steve Mitchell GBR 31 2 1 2 -35 36
8 Peter Bromby & Martin Seese BER -19 17 6 7 7 37
9 Marc Pickel & David Giles GER 14 (100\OCS) 3 4 20 41
10 Riccardo Simoneschi & Ferninando Colaninno ITA 12 12 14 13 -24 51

RYA Press/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM