The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
8 March 2002, 03:03 pm
No ALT tag specified

Olympic Garda
Lake Garda

Results from the Olympic Garda, the Italian Eurolymp taking place in Italy. The last day of racing is tommorrow.
Yesterday Diego Negri in the Lasers (today the Laser race was suspended less than two hundred meters from the finish after the wind dropped completely), today Nicola Celon in the Star Class and the Italian team fill their sails on the race waters of Lake Garda.

The Finns raced only once, enough for Luigi Mastruzo (9.15.7, C.V. Cortona, eighth overall) to lead the Sydney Olympics silver medallist, Luca Devoti, who finished only seventh, sliding to eleventh in the placings. First is the European champion, Emilious Papathanasiou, who with three victories is firmly in the lead ahead of the Czech Hruby (7.4.5) and the German Fellman (3.3.11). However, the 'worst result' game is still to be played.

One race for the 49ers, where the Sibello brothers solidly head the provisional table thanks to a second place today, relegating the Germans Steeg-Deml ( Third are the Swiss Rast-Steiger ( The Mistral and Europe classes did not race, and one race only for the very quick Tornados with victory going to the Slovenian Dusan Puh, but first place is firmly held by the Italians Sonino-Bruni, third today, who with ten points ( are two adrift of the other Italians Marcolini-Maldina (1.2.dnf.2) who jumped into second place at the expense of Dusan Puh, overall third.

Today's postponed races for the classes which did not race and two races for all other classes are scheduled for today and tommorrow the last day of racing.

470 Men

1 ITA Luca D'apote/Francesco Invaldi
2 GER Lucas Zellmer/Felix Krabbe
3 SUI Lukas Erni/Simon Bruegger

470 Women

1 GER Stephanie Truebel/Vivien Kussatz
2 SLO Vesna Dekleva/Klara Maucec
3 GER Nicola Berkner/Alexnadra Goltz


1 ITA Petro Sibello/Gian Franco Sibello
2 SUI Christopher Rast/Christian Steiger
3 GER Markus Steeg/Moritz Deml


1 ITA Giulia Pignolo
2 ITA Giulia Conti
3 CZE Veronika Fenclova


1 GRE Emilios Papathanasiou
2 CZE Michal Hruby
3 GER Michael Fellman


1 ITA Diego Negri
2 CRO Mate Aropov
3 CRO Luka Radelic


1 SLO Patrik Pollak
2 ITA Andrea Beverino
3 FRA Christophe Carbonnieres


1 ITA Alessandra Sensini


1 DEN Nicklas Holm/Martin Leifelt
2 ITA Nicola Celon/Edoardo Natucci
3 CRO Marin. Jr Lovrovic/Marko Glazar
News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM