The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
13 August 2014, 01:50 pm
Gilmour Wins Jubilee Yava Trophy
Podium Jubilee YAVA Trophy
Podium Jubilee YAVA Trophy

Jubilee Yava Trophy
Yacht Club Komatek, Russia

The Jubilee YAVA Trophy, ISAF Grade 2 Match Race event was held from 6 -10 August in Ekaterinburg, Russia. Ten teams from Russia, Finland, Australia, Poland and India came to Ekaterinburg to compete for the Yava Trophy.
The intended format of the event was a full round-robin, quarter-final Round robin for best six teams, progressing to semi-finals and the final.

The weather conditions did not interfere with the Cup Series of the Jubilee YAVA Trophy although it was hot and the wind was very light throughout the regatta. Nevertheless, the race committee managed to determine the champion; David Gilmour and his team from Australia.

On the first day 27 races and nine flights were sailed, the wind dropped off on the second day so only one flight and three races could be completed. On the third day racing got underway after 18.00 and three more flights were completed, by the beginning of the final day the round robin was not yet completed.

On the final day of the competition, the race committee did a good job at getting through the round robin series with enough time to start the semi-finals series. The round robin winner, Gilmour, chose to sail against a mixed Russian and Australian crew of Neville Wittey. Thus, two teams from Ekaterinburg led by Sergey Musikhin (RUS) and Eugeniy Neugodnikov (RUS) competed in the second semi-final. The weather conditions made fans, sportsmen and umpires slightly nervous as the semi-finals, which were supposed to be best of three, had to close before 16.00.

The Race Committee had reduced the semi-finals from best of five races but the second semi-final race had to be stopped due to a massive wind shift on the first beat, the course had to be reset and the race started anew. Before this moment, Wittey managed to even up to one race a piece, but there was no chance for the third decisive race so Gilmour was determined as the finalist on count back by the results of the round robin. The second finalist Neugodnikov won his semi-final with two straight wins and he progressed to the final to face Gilmour.

Gilmour and his crew won the final in two straight races from Neugodnikov to take the title.

"We are really stoked to take the win in what has been a very tough and tricky week", said David Gilmour, the winner of the Jubilee International Sailing Regatta Yava Trophy, "the boys did a great job and really stepped it up in the final".

Final Results

1st place - David Gilmour, Australia ?
2nd - Eugeniy Neugodnikov, Russia?
3rd - Sergey Musikhin, Russia?
4th - Neville Wittey, Australia?
5th - Georgy Shayduko, Russia?
6th - Sam Gilmour, Australia?
7th - Maxim Taranov, Russia?
8th - Staffan Lindberg, Finland?
9th - Marek Stanczyk, Poland?
10th - Mahesh Ramchandran, India
Svetlana Batrakova, Yana Dobzhitsaya (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM