The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 May 2014, 12:44 pm
Denmark's Sehested Comes Out On Top On Lake Constance
Danish and Swiss teams duel on Lake Constance
Danish and Swiss teams duel on Lake Constance

Bodensee Match Race Act III
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland

Eleven highly motivated top match race teams from nine countries met from 23-25 May at the ISAF Grade 2 Bodensee Match Race Act III on Lake Constance in Switzerland.
At World #6 Nicolai Sehested (DEN) was the favourite coming into the event and he lived up to the billing, defeating World #9 and home nation favourite Eric Monnin (SUI) 2-1 in the final.

Sailing on blu26 boats the 11 teams sailed a full Round Robin with the top eight advancing to the quarter finals.

After the Round Robin Monnin led the way ahead of Sehested and Pierre-Antoine Morvan (FRA). The young Adrian Maier-Ring surprised the pack with six wins and qualified in fourth place.

Around noon on Saturday 24 May the race committee, headed by Ivo Gonzenbach, took to the water for the quarter-finals with the eight best teams in the preliminary round:

Eric Monnin (SUI) against Florian Haufe (GER)

Nicolai Sehested (DEN) vs. Victor Ogeman (SWE)

Patryk Zbroja (POL) against Pierre-Antoine Morvan (FRA)

Vladimir Lipavsky (RUS) vs. Adrian Maier-Ring (GER)

Monnin, Sehested, Moravan and Lipavsky advanced to the semi finals on Sunday morning and with light winds on Lake Constance it was a single race semi-final. Monnin and Sehested took the victories to advance to the final.

A building breeze made for an intriguing final. After Monnin took a victory in the first match, the Danes were under pressure and had to win the second match. Sehested drew level and so it went in the all-decisive third final match.

Monnin had the advantage at the start but, Sehested attacked on the first beat and was able to come out on top at the first mark to lead. On the downwind the Danish sailor held on to his lead and as the race progressed he pulled away as he read the wind shifts perfectly to take the title.

1. Nicolai Sehested (DEN)
2. Eric Monnin (SUI)
3. Pierre-Antoine Morvan (FRA)
4. Lipavsky Vladimir (RUS)
5. Adrian Maier-ring (GER)
6. Patrick Zbroja (POL)
7. Victor Ogeman (SWE)
8. Florian Haufe (GER)
9. Christian Binder (AUT)
10. Max Trippolt (AUT)
11. Philip Bendon (IRL)
Felix Somm (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM