The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
21 May 2014, 09:47 am
Perfect Weather And Close Racing On First Day At The Delta Lloyd Regatta
Besson and Rious (FRA), Cammas and Turckheim (FRA) and Bundock and Curtis (AUS).
Besson and Rious (FRA), Cammas and Turckheim (FRA) and Bundock and Curtis (AUS).

Delta Lloyd Regatta
Medemblik, Netherlands

On day 1of the Delta Lloyd Regatta, the 350 sailors from 49 nations enjoyed some close, tactical racing in light to moderate winds.
Racing started in 9-11 knots from the south-west and slightly overcast skies, and later rose to around 15 knots, though there were some significant wind shifts through the day, that mixed up some fleets and delayed others.

Nacra 17
As expected, French sailors dominate the top of the fleet, however without winning a race. After three races, Billy Besson and Marie Riou (FRA) are on equal points with Franck Cammas and Sophie de Turckheim (FRA) with Lucy Macgregor and Andrew Walsh (GBR) in third.

The top ranked sailors here, Ben Saxton and Hannah Diamond (GBR) had an up and down day to end up 16th overall. Saxton said, "Today didn't quite go to plan, I don't think we've completely thrown it away, but almost. We've left ourselves a bit of work to do, so we need to head out there for the rest of the week and try and make up some points."

The race wins went to Renne Groenveld and Steven Krol (NED), Macgregor and Walsh, and Darren Bundock and Nina Curtis (AUS).

In the Finn class, Philip Kasueske (GER) was the surprise winner of both races. He described his day, "We had pretty shifty conditions and the wind was quite unstable. In the first race I was pretty lucky. Jake Lilley (AUS) was leading and got a flag on the first downwind which put me into first. Just before the gate, Pieter-Jan Postma (NED) attacked but he couldn't get past. On the second upwind I just stayed on the right shifts and kept the lead and then just defended on the final downwind."

"In the second race I got a really lucky wind shift on the first upwind of about 10 degrees. It went to the left and I was furthest left, and also had some more wind. I then had such a big lead, I only had to defend for the rest of the race. We are just 14 sailors, but there are some good ones out there so it feels very nice to win both races."

After two races Kasueske leads from event favourite Postma and Hein van Egmond (NED). Postma said, "I need to work on my speed in lighter conditions. I would like to win here in Medemblik as I have never done so before, but a fifth and a second is a good start. I was leading in both races but lost speed. I have to tune some things again. This week there won't be much wind, so it will be a good week of practice.''

470 Men
The men's 470 fleet had some very tight racing with Giulio Desiderato and Andrea Trani (ITA) leading overall after winning the first race and following that with fourth in the second race. Luke Patience and Elliot Willis (GBR) won the second race to end the day in second while Balder Tobiasen and Magnus Jung Johansen (DEN) are third overall.

470 Women
Michelle Broekhuizen and Marieke Jongens (NED) also surprised themselves with a double win in the 470 women, while Afrodite Kyranakou and Anneloes van Veen (NED) placed second in both races.

Broekhuizen and Jongens have been sailing together for just a year. Broekhuizen, a former Nacra sailor was recovering from injury for much of 2013 is now back in action.

Broekhuizen commented on the day,"Of course it's great to win two races at the Delta Lloyd Regatta, but we are still in a learning process. Our main goal is to show the Dutch Federation that we are potential medal winners at the Olympics in Rio 2016. We didn't start in Medemblik with the idea we wanted to win. After the first day we're very happy with the results, but it's only a start.''

Broekhuizen and Jongens lead from Kyranakou and Van Veen, with Linda Fahrni and Maja Siegenthaler (SUI) in third.

The 49er fleet produced a very mixed bag of results with some big shifts on the course area. After three races Erik Heil and Thomas Plossell (GER) have a race win as well as an eight point advantage over Frederico Alonso and Arturo Alonso (ESP), while World #1, Jonas Warrer and Peter Lang (DEN) are in third with a race win. A race win also went to fourth placed Dylan Fletcher and Alan Sign (GBR).

Nicholas Heiner (NED) finished the day on top of the 43 boat Laser fleet after a 1 and 2. Following closely behind is a chasing back of Kiwi sailors, Sam Meech (NZL) won the first race of the day and then placed seventh to finish the day in second, with Mike Bullot (NZL) in third.

Heiner commented, "With a first and second places you can't almost do better. So this is very good start. My preparation was different this time. In the last months I tested a lot of material, sails, mast, that sort of thing. This morning I found out I took the wrong sail with me, an old one from last year. A stupid mistake, but luckily one without consequences."

Meech commented on the racing, he said, "I had a fantastic first race. I got away at the start, managed to stay in front at the top mark and had a good first downwind. It was simple after that covering the fleet. The second race was a little more difficult. I got stuck on the left but managed to get back into it. But it was really good racing. It was a little bit shifty but nothing crazy."

Laser Radial
Alicia Cebrian Martinez de Lagos (ESP) leads the 26 boat Laser Radial fleet after posting a 3, 2 today. She ends the day just ahead of the race winners. In second place overall, Marit Bouwmeester (NED) won the second race, while Evi van Acker (BEL) won the opening race to end the day in third.

RS:X Men
Pawel Tarnowski (POL) took two bullets to lead Przemyslaw Miarczynski (POL) and Louis Giard (FRA). Miarczynski won the final race of the day.

RS:X Women
The Polish sailors fill the top three places in the RS:X Women's fleet with Maja Dziarnowska (POL) winning two races to lead Zofia Klepacka (POL) and Malgorzata Bialecka (POL). Farrah Hall (USA) managed to break the Polish dominance in the third race to win and sit in fourth overall.

Colin Harrison, Jon Harris and Russell Boaden (AUS) lead the Sonar fleet with a 3, 2 with Bruno Jourdren, Eric Flageul and Nicolas Vimont-Vicary (FRA) in second on equal points. Jens Kroker, Robert Prems and Siggy Marinka (GER) are in third after winning the second race, while World # 1 team Aleksander Wang-Hansen, Marie Solberg and Per Eugen Kristiansen (NOR) won the opening race and are in fourth.

Skud 18
Though the Skud 18 is the smallest fleet in Medemblik with just six entries, it still contains quality sailors. Paralympic bronze medalists Alexandra Rickham and Niki Birrell (GBR) won the opening race and hold the overall lead from Marco Gualandris and Marta Zanetti (ITA). Vera Voorback and Jan Rein van Essenveld (NED) won the second race and sit in third overnight.

2.4 mR
The British sailors are dominating the 2.4 mR class with a race win each to Helena Lucas (GBR) and Megan Pascoe (GBR). Kevin Cantin (FRA) sits in third with a 4, 2.

Delta LLoyd Regatta (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM