The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 May 2014, 08:13 am
Ross Williams Crowned Formula Windsurfing World Champion
Fleet line up
Fleet line up

Formula Windsurfing World Championship
Azores, Portugal

Britain's Ross Williams has been crowned Formula Windsurfing World Champion in Praia da Vitoria on Terceira Island, Azores.
The Australian Stephen Allen and Argentine Gonzalo Hoevel were second and third, while Miguel Martin finished as the highest placed Portuguese sailors, occupying 18th position.

There were many nerves on the last day of the Formula Windsurfing World Championship as the first two were separated by just one point, and it was soon realized that the wind was missing on the final day of the race. The wind missed the call but the fleet of 43 participants had to wait on the ground for six long hours, until the Race Committee made the decision to cancel.

Ross Williams of Britain won the title with five wins from 12 races and succeeds Dutch Casper Bouman, only ranked fifth in Azorean waters. The "Aussie "Stephen Allen finished second, one point behind winner and Argentine Gonzalo Hoevel, finished third.
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM