The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
4 November 2002, 11:00 am
ISAF Grade 2 Event Concludes With Some Upsets
No ALT tag specified
Weiser (GER) Vs.Williams (GBR)

Berlin Match Race 2002
Lake Wansee

Markus Wieser (GER), 77 in the ISAF World Match Race Rankings, beat a host of World Champions and higher ranked skippers to win the final 3:1 from Ian Williams (GBR) yesterday.
Held in H-boats on Lake Wansee, the Berlin Match Race 2002 gave some of the higher ranked skippers a perfect opportunity to consolidate their positions in the ISAF World Match Race Rankings, however, for some it was not to be.

Weiser, three times previous winner of the event, won a close semi final against Bjorn Hansen (SWE), although the fifth ranked skipper took Weiser to three races before eventually succumbing to the former champion. Williams, already having despatched ISAF World Match Race Champion Karol Jablonski (POL) and top Ranked Jesper Radich (DEN), had an easier route through the semi-final, beating Steffan Meister (GER) 2:0. Meister eventually finished fourth, going down 2:0 to Hansen in the petit-final.

In the first race of the final, Williams inflicted two penalties on Wieser during the pre-start manoeuvring before sailing away to a simple victory. Coming off the line ahead and a penalty up in the second, it looked like the final was going Williams' way but close to the shore at the top mark the wind died away for Williams and Wieser was able to complete his penalty and sail past Williams for the win.

A double penalty inflicted on Williams in the pre-start led to an easy win for Weiser in the third race. In the fourth, Williams won the favoured port end of the line at the start before Wieser picked up more pressure on the right to cross ahead at the top mark. Williams drew Wieser in up the next beat, catching him on starboard at the top and leading round the top mark. However, Wieser managed to gybe earlier on the run and, as the boats approached the finish, picked up a puff to finish less than a metre ahead, giving Wieser to take his third win in this prestigious event.

Position Skipper Nation
1 Markus Wieser GER
2 Ian Williams GBR
3 Björn Hansen SWE
4 Stefan Meister GER
5 Karol Jablonski POL
6 Mikael Lindqvist SWE
7 Nina Braestrup DEN
7 Andrew Arbuzov RUS
9 Jesper Radich DEN
10 Staffan Lindberg FIN
11 Andreas Bock GER
11 Francois Brenac FRA
Sacha Oswald/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM