The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
18 November 2002, 02:25 pm
Maryland Sailor Steve Phillips Steers Le Renard to Victory
No ALT tag specified
Le Renard © Daniel Forster

Rolex Farr 40 World Championship
Paradise Island, Nassau

Over four days of competition in poster-perfect sailing conditions, Phillips turned in single-digit finishes in all but one of ten races, which proved the key to his success.
"It was our strategy to stay in the top ten in every race," said Phillips, "because the teams here are tremendous and it's very competitive. We took a 17th in the first race, but after that we sailed consistently and we stayed out of trouble."

Phillips, the current Farr 40 East Coast champion, credited his tactician Mark Reynolds, a three-time Olympic medallist from San Diego, with keeping everyone on track to victory. "I'd hate to play poker with the guy, he stays so cool," said Phillips. "He doesn't let us get in difficult situations."

Phillips finished with 61 points overall and a 22-point lead over second-place finisher Groovederci, skippered by the regatta's only woman skipper Deneen Demourkas (USA). Groovederci and would-be third-place finisher Crocodile Rock, skippered by Scott Harris of (USA), were over early in today's second race, and in their battle back to earn respectable positions encountered problems at a congested mark.

Both boats were protested by Italy's Nerone, with Crocodile Rock losing the battle in the jury room to fall from third to fifth. As a result, Samba Pa Ti, skippered by John Kilroy (USA), moved up to third, with Nerone, skippered by Antonio Migliori (ITA) gaining a position as well and finishing fourth.

Top Ten Overall (After 10 Races)

Position Boat Name Nation Owner Total
1 LE RENARD USA Steve Phillips 61
2 CROCODILE ROCK USA Alex Geremia / Scott Harris 83
3 GROOVEDERCI USA John / Deneen Demourkas 83
4 SAMBA PA TI USA John Kilroy 83
5 NERONE ITA Massimo Mezzaroma / Antonio Sodo Migliori 88
6 PEGASUS USA Philippe Kahn 92
7 BARKING MAD USA Jim Richardson 95
8 DEFIANT USA Terry McLaughlin 104
9 BAMBAKOU USA John Coumantaros 105
10 JOSS USA Owen Kratz 106
Rolexpress/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM