The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 December 2013, 09:39 pm
Hong Kong Dominate RS:X Asian Championship
Chan Hei Man Hayley Victoria (HKG)
Women's gold medallist Chan Hei Man Hayley Victoria (HKG)

RS:X Asian Windsurfing Championships 2013
Hong Kong

With 10 races completed the 2013 RS:X Asian Championships concluded on Sunday with gold and silver in each classification won by Hong Kong.
Although the top three sailors in each division kept their positions from the penultimate day, the last two races were not easy for either of them. Top two men, youth men and youth women came to the final races with equal points, knowing that their victory would fully depend on avoiding any mistakes and winning over their rivals.

In the battle victorious came the top ranking sailors Cheng Chun Leung Micheal (HKG), Kikabhoy Rafeek (HKG) and Ngai Wai Yan (HKG) who kept their leader positions and won the 2013 RS:X Champion men, youth men and youth women titles respectively.

The second and third place in the men's division went to Leung Ho Tsun Andy (HKG) and Wonwoo Cho (KOR). In the youth men Ng Ho Yin (HKG) and Phattharadanai Jinain (THA) and in youth women Ma Kwan Ching (HKG) and Sabin Chun (KOR) completed the podiums.

In the women's event Chan Hei Man Hayley Victoria (HKG) entered the final races with an advantage of six points, and by adding another two bullets she won Championships in a grand style collecting only 12 points in total. In the second place was Lo Sin Lam Sonia (HKG) who didn't give away that position from the beginning of the event. Megumi Komine (JPN) started the regatta in eighth position after the first day, and climbed onto the final bronze medal position on the podium in the end.

Congratulations should go to the Windsurfing Association of Hong Kong not only for winning in all RS:X classifications but also for staging a remarkable and successful multi-classes windsurfing event.

Final Results

RS:X Men
1 Cheng Chun Leung Michael (HKG) - 17 pts
2 Leung Ho Tsun Andy (HKG) - 18 pts
3 Wonwoo Cho (KOR) 31 pts

RS:X Women
1 Chan Hei Man Hayley Victoria (HKG) 12pts
2 Lo Sin Lam Sonia (HKG) 21 pts
3 Megumi Komine (JPN) 36 pts

RS:X Youth Boys
1 Kikabhoy Rafeek (HKG) 17 pts
2 Ng Ho Yin (HKG) 18 pts
3 Phattharadanai Jinain (THA) 24 pts

RS:X Youth Girls
1 Ngai Wai Yan (HKG) 15 pts
2 Ma Kwan Ching (HKG) 17 pts
3 Sabin Chun (KOR) 19 pts

Anna Graczyk-Stankiewicz
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM