The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 November 2002, 11:32 am
First Races Completed
No ALT tag specified

2002 Asean Regatta
Port Dickson

After a 2 hour delay in proceedings due to little wind, mother nature then built up a pleasant 12 to 15 knot south westerly before finally unleashing a 35 knot plus tropical monsoon thunder storm to finish with.
Despite the postponement and varied conditions all 3 scheduled races were completed and Aussie race officer Chris Kelly showed some remarkable perseverance to produce one of the most interesting days racing ever experienced in Port Dickson.

Replacing the keel on Luna Nuova has paid dividends for Aussie Ray Roberts on his first outing to take line and handicap honours in Race 1 by only 10 seconds from Bill Bremner's fast finishing Singaporean team on Foxy Lady. Keith Moore's Farr 40 Pla Loma slotted into third and as only 2 minutes separated the first six yachts on corrected time indicating how close the racing is expected to become.

Peter Ahern's Yo! regained their composure after a unlucky race 1 and struck back to record a 1st in race 2 from Ray Roberts on Luna Nuova and Foxy Lady taking 3rd. This time only 8 minutes of corrected time (after handicaps have been applied) separated the 10 boat fleet which range from a 77 footer down to 30ft.

The sailors welcomed the freshening breeze and decided to continue on with Race 3 despite a building storm over land. Hannes Waimer's crew on Jativa displayed some of last years form and take 1st place for the Malaysian team over Yo! and Frank Pong's 77ft sled Jelik slid into 3rd place and took line honours for race 2 and 3.

The smaller class B yachts struggled over the last half mile to the finish as the storm unleashed it's full fury.

Results (After 3 Races)

Position Boat Name Skipper R1 R2 R3 Total
1 YO! Peter Ahern 9 1 2 3
2 Luna Nuova Ray Roberts 1 2 4 3
3 Foxy Lady Bill Bremner 2 3 7 5
4 Jativa Hannes Waimer 5 7 1 6
5 Jelik Frank Pong 10 4 3 7
6 Pla Loma Keith Moore 3 5 5 8
7 Piccolo Dr Razif 4 10 8 12
8 Panic Stuart Harrison 6 6 9 12
9 Pasaya Schle Wood 8 8 6 14
10 Next Page Steve Walker 7 9 10 16
Capt Marty Rijkuris/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM