The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
4 November 2002, 09:38 am
Australians Win Asian Yachting Circuit Regatta
No ALT tag specified
YO! (AUS) Regatta Winner

2002 Asean Regatta
Port Dickson

The ever changing wind direction and scattered storms once again played havoc with the race officers who worked overtime laying and relaying the course for three hours before conditions settled enough to get the final days racing started.
A two knot current sweeping across the start line had the competitors sailing away from the line or holding station before turning back as the starting signal sounded.

By the end of the day, 2 races were completed which produced a mixed bag of very close results and saw numerous fluctuations on the leader board. Peter Ahern's Yo! added 2 further second places to his consistent tally to leap frog Ray Roberts on Luna Nuova the overnight leader who could only manage a 4th and 6th today to take overall 1st and 2nd places respectively. Hannes Waimer's Malaysian Farr 40 Jativa added another win to their tally in race 5 elevating them to 3rd place overall and relegate Keith Moore's Pla Loma and Bill Bremner's well sailed Foxy Lady to 4th and 5th.

Schle Wood's Thai racing team on Pasaya bounced back to win race 6 to show that they are capable of performing and will be a force to be reckoned with in the upcoming regatta's on the Asian Yachting Circuit this year. Frank Pong's 77ft Jelik took line honours in both races held today but with a enormous IRC of 1.443 had to be content with 8th place overall.

Division B for the smaller racers was convincingly won by Bill Bremner's Foxy Lady scoring 5 x 1st places from Stuart Harrison's new Mumm 30 Panic. Malaysia's Dato Dr Razif's 26 year old Piccolo had a solid outing to secure third place in this class and benefited by improving their crew work through out the series.

Once again the Asean Regatta 2002 has been judged a resounding success by attracting top level racing yachts and sailing competition to the region. The Aussie teams may have won this time out but the close results show that the Singapore and Malaysian teams are not far behind so watch out when these yachts meet again.

Final Results (After Six Races/One Discard)

Pos Boat Name Skipper R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 Total
1 YO! Peter Ahern 9 1 2 2 2 2 9
2 Luna Nuova Ray Roberts 1 2 4 1 4 6 12
3 Jativa Hannes Waimer 5 7 1 6 1 4 17
4 Pla Loma Keith Moore 3 5 5 3 3 3 17
5 Foxy Lady Bill Bremner 2 3 7 4 6 5 20
6 Pasaya Schle Wood 8 8 6 OCS 7 1 30
7 Panic Stuart Harrison 6 6 9 5 5 8 30
8 Jelik Frank Pong 10 4 3 9 8 10 34
9 Piccolo Dr Razif 4 10 8 7 9 7 35
10 Next Page Steve Walker 7 9 10 8 10 9 43
Capt Marty Rijkuris/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM