The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
16 November 2002, 01:15 pm
Le Renard Takes Lead After Defiant Loses Protest
No ALT tag specified
Grooverderci (USA)©Daniel Forster

Rolex Farr 40 World Championship
Paradise Island, Nassau

While other sailors were energized this morning by a third day of racing in paradise at the Rolex Farr 40 World Championship, Defiant's Terry McLaughlin awoke to the dismal reality that he would have to start his day in 14 place overall instead of first.
After last night's long night of deliberation by a jury over two starting line incidents, Defiant was disqualified from the two races it won, falling from a 22-point lead over Le Renard, owned by Steve Phillips (USA)., to 14th going into today.

"It was unfortunate," said McLaughlin, Canada's current Rolex Sailor of the Year, about the jury's decision. "Of course I think we were correct in each case, but we either didn't have the right witnesses or didn't present our case well enough. In hindsight, I wouldn't have done anything different on the race course."

McLaughlin improved Defiant's position only to 11th today in the 25-boat fleet and accepted graciously that, for him, the brass ring--and the Rolex timepiece presented to the winner--is beyond reach.

After three light-air races today, Le Renard remains the leader, with 52 points over Nerone, skippered by Italy's Antonio Sodo Migliori. Joss, owned by Owen Kratz of League City, Texas, "won the day" with the lowest combination of scores from a 1-9-5 score line. The team, which has been sailing together for 14 years but only started Farr 40 racing at the beginning of this year when Kratz bought his boat, moved up from 14th to fifth today in overall standings. "I think it had to do with our learning curve, in that we finally found our boat speed in light air at this regatta," explained Kratz, who gave credit to fellow Texan and Olympic Medallist John Kolius (LaPorte) for calling "brilliant" tactics.

Two other new race winners emerged today as well: Bambakou, skippered by John Coumantaros (USA), and Groovederci, skippered by the regatta's only woman skipper Deneen Demourkas (USA). Demourkas passed race-three leader Crocodile Rock on the last leg to claim her victory and add it to a thirteenth and a second. She moves to fourth place overall behind Crocodile Rock, which is owned by Alex Geremia and Scott Harris of Santa Barbara, Calif. Bambakou sits in eighth overall.

"It's anybody's ball game," said Demourkas, who is within striking distance to top-three. "That's what makes it so fun in this class."

Today officially was North Sails Race Day. Sailing concludes tomorrow on the waters off Atlantis, Paradise Island. The event is hosted by the Storm Trysail Club.

Top 10 Results (After 8 Races)

Position Boat Name Nation Owner R 1 R 2 R 3 R 4 R 5 R 6 R 7 R 8 Total
1 LE RENARD USA Steve Phillips 17 2 1 7 9 3 4 9 52
2 NERONE ITA Massimo Mezzaroma / Antonio Sodo Migliori 6 1 15 3 20 5 3 8 61
3 CROCODILE ROCK USA Alex Geremia / Scott Harris 11 9 11 10 1 12 6 2 62
4 GROOVEDERCI USA John / Deneen Demourkas 8 26 dsq 16 2 3 13 2 1 71
5 JOSS USA Owen Kratz 9 19 14 12 4 1 9 5 73
6 SAMBA PA TI USA John Kilroy 12 5 7 8 12 6 7 16 73
7 PEGASUS USA Philippe Kahn 19 8 19 6 5 4 12 6 79
8 BAMBAKOU USA John Coumantaros 10 16 5 15 10 17 1 10 84
9 BARKING MAD USA Jim Richardson 13 3 2 13 14 15 14 11 85
10 BOTTADICULO ITA Giovanni Arrivabene / Raffaele Mincione 2 10 6 4 26 dnf 19 17 4 88

Event Media/ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM