The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 September 2002, 09:58 am
Hungarians win World Title
No ALT tag specified
World Champions Szabolcs Majthenyi and Andras Domokos©Jose Severino

Flying Dutchman World Championship

After nine races Szabolcs Majthenyi and Andras Domokos (HUN) became the Flying Dutchman world Champions on Tuesday. The Hungarian crew was the most consistant during the competition, with three racing victories and never ending up below 7th position.
2nd placed were Hans-Peter Schwarz and Roland Kirst (GER), and on the 3rd were Roberto Cipriani and Stefano Morelli (ITA)

Two races with strong winds finish the World Championship

On the last day of the Championship two races were completed in a strong South-Westerly wind. At the first Mark in the first race the Hungarian crew were in 11th position, a situation that risked their Championship result.

The German crew Hans Peter Schwarz were leading, followed by the Dutch Klaas Trista and the German Hans Albert Konig. The Hungarian team, however was able to regain positions during the race, and eventually finished in seventh.

On the second race of the day and the last one of the Championship, it was still blowing hard, The German Team of Hans Peter Schwarz and Roland Kirst lead, followed by John Best and James Cole (GBR). 3rd place went to the Hungarian crew.

Finishing 9 races meant the competitors discarded the worst two results giving the Hungarians the championship.

" The races were great races with strong and gentle winds, until now we thought that we were able to sail only with gentle winds but after all we has good result almost all the time. Anyway it wasn't easy as the other crews sail very well and they have a lot of experience. The fact that the result was only decided on the last race turned everything a lot more competitive" - declared Domokos

Top 5 Overall Results

Position Sail No. Crew Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
1 HUN70 Szabolcs Majthenyi & Andras Domokos 18 1 4 1 2 6 (7) 1 (7) 3
2 GER87 Hans-Peter Schwarz & Roland Kirst 22 (10) 1 8 7 (12) 2 2 1 1
3 ITA10 Roberto Cipriani & Stefano Morelli 29 6 12 2 1 (13) 1 3 4 (17)
4 NED12 Klaas Tilstra & Adriaan Schmal 36 (50\DNF) 3 13 3 2 3 10 2 (50\DNF)
5 ESP66 Ginés Romero & Juan Carlos Sánchez-Herrero 39 5 6 5 (13) (18) 4 6 5 8

Event Media/News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM