The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
10 August 2013, 07:43 pm
Camilla Ulrikkeholm Wins In Lysekil
Ulrikkeholm celebrates
Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN) and team celebrate

Lysekil Women's Match 2013
Lysekil, Sweden

Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN) has won her third consecutive Lysekil Women's Match Race title while her opponent Lucy Macgregor (GBR) takes inaugural Women's International Match Racing Series title.
Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN) will further strengthen her top position on the ISAF world match race rankings. In the ISAF Grade 1 Lysekil finale the Dane beat Lucy Macgregor with a 3 - 1 score, but the British team takes the Terry J Kohler Perpetual Trophy for the inaugural Women's International Match Racing Series.

Local sailor Anna Kjellberg defeated French Olympian Claire Leroy 2 - 1 in the petit finale, taking not only third place in Lysekil Women's Match, but also the WIMR Series' runner-up position.

Camilla Ulrikkeholm and her team of the Royal Danish Yacht Club in Skovshoved had an extremely joyful Saturday on the beautiful Swedish west coast, first defeating Claire Leroy 3 - 1 in their semi finals, then repeating the score after a couple of really exciting matches against Lucy Macgregor in the finale.

"We are so happy! When seeing the list of competitors we never expected to be able to win again" Ulrikkeholm smiled after her third Lysekil Women's Match victory in a row.

"Camilla and her team sailed really well today, and showed they know how to handle the boat perfectly. I feel slightly deflated right now, but we're happy to be second, and to have won the first Women's International Match Racing Series" Macgregor commented.

"We tried to cover Lucy all the time. She's very good at finding the right way and the right puffs, so if she choses a side of the course it's most likely the right one" Ulrikkeholm explained.

A very disappointed local hero, Swedish Olympian Anna Kjellberg, was defeated 1 - 3 by Macgregor in the semis. Yet determined to revenge herself, Kjellberg went energized into the petit finale. A mid-day lightning and thunderstorm delayed the races a little, but once running the finale offered propaganda conditions on the waters of Lysekil, with a steady southerly breeze and some sun. Kjellberg won the first match, before Leroy broke back and forced the Swede to win the last race.

"We experienced some difficulties in getting every detail right in every match. Still this result is OK, and we would never had expected to finish second in the Women's International Match racing Series" Kjellberg concluded.

Results - Final
Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN) bt Lucy Macgregor (GBR) 3 - 1

Results - Petit Final
Anna Kjellberg (SWE) bt Claire Leroy (FRA) 1 - 2

Results - Semi Final
Claire Leroy (FRA) v Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN) 1 - 3
Anna Kjellberg (SWE) v Lucy Macgregor (GBR) 1 - 3.

Final Standings
1. Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN)
2. Lucy Macgregor (GBR)
3. Anna Kjellberg (SWE)
4. Claire Leroy (FRA)
5. Ekaterina Skudina (RUS)
6. Anne-Claire Le Berre (FRA)
7. Caroline Sylvan (SWE)
8. Johanna Larsson (SWE)
9. Alexa Bezel (SUI)
10. Claudia Pierce (NZL)
11 Anna Kjellgren (SWE)

Final Standings in the 2013 Women's International Match Racing Series
(skipper/nationality/WIMRS points):
1. Lucy Macgregor (GBR) 88 - 25,000 USD
2. Anna Kjellberg (SWE) 70 - 15,000 USD
3. Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN) 69 - 10,000 USD
4. Stephanie Roble (USA) 47
5. Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen (DEN) 44
6. Caroline Sylvan (SWE) 38
7. Claudia Pierce (NZL) 31
8. Ekateriana Skudina (RUS) 30
9. Tamara Echegoyen (ESP) 25
10. Klaartje Zuiderbaan (NED) 25

Event Website

Joakim Hermansson
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM