The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 July 2013, 12:15 pm
Spain and Great Britain Claim Titles At 420 Worlds
420 Worlds Champions
420 Worlds Champions

420 World & Ladies World Championships
Valencia, Spain

A thrilling final day of racing in Valencia, Spain ended with Xavier Antich and Pedro Terrones (ESP) winning the 420 World Championship title and Annabel Cattermole and Bryony Bennett-Lloyd (GBR) sealing victory in the 420 Ladies World Championship.
The day was intense and exciting as teams' patience and nerves were tested waiting for the breeze to fill in. Postponed ashore racing eventually got underway at 15:00 hours, with the building breeze reaching around 12 knots.

420 Open
The surprise of the day was undoubtedly the victory in the Open fleet by Xavier Antich and Pedro Terrones, who managed to close the gap separating them from the first placed team going into the day and recent ISAF Youth World Champions Tiago Britto and Kneipp Andrei from Brazil.

The Spanish pair literally snatched victory from Brito and Kneipp who had led the series until race 11, by sailing the race of their lives, with the Brazilians back in 28th.

Britto and Kneipp have excelled in Valencia, heading up the Open fleet after each day's racing, and seemed certain to seal gold. But the World Championship crown slipped away from them after two days of mixed results gave them no margin to put another foot wrong in the final two races. And that they did, scoring a 12, 28, compared to the 15,5 scoreline of the Spanish.

Still glory days though, with Britto and Kneipp securing the silver medal and the John Merricks Trophy as the best under-18 team.

A delighted Antich said, "We are very proud to be champions of the world because we have spent many years working to get it. The consistency has helped us to be ahead always."

"It was a pretty tough race but we worked all the way and now we get the result," added Terrones.

Sebastien Simon and Pierre Rhimbault (FRA) were also in the battle for gold, but they scored their worst two races of the series to finish in third.

Italy's Matteo Pilati and Michele Cecchin won the William Sanchez Trophy for the best under-16 crew finishing eighth overall.

The Huck Scott Memorial Trophy, awarded to the youngest crew at the 420 Worlds, was presented to the Austrian team of George Steinhaler and Patrick Christa.

Having had to wait for the breeze to fill in, the time limit cut-off meant it was not possible to hold the final race 12 for the silver and bronze fleets. At the Closing Ceremony, the top finishers in each fleet, Hippolite Macheti and Sidoine Dantes (FRA) and Taylor Balogh and Samuel Lee (NZL) respectively, were presented with trophies.

420 Open - Leaderboard Top 10
1. Xavier Antich/Pedro Terrones (ESP) - 83 pts
2. Tiago Brito/Andrei Kneipp (BRA) - 86 pts
3. Sebastien Simon/Pierre Rhimbault (FRA) - 92 pts
4. Swann Hayewski/Alexis Thomas (FRA) - 93 pts
5. José María Ruiz/Fernando Davila (ESP) - 94 pts
6. Diogo Pereira/Pedro Cruz (POR) - 97 pts
7. Manuel Cunha/Joao Cunha (POR) - 98 pts
8. Matteo Pilati/Michele Cecchin (ITA) - 105 pts
9. Wade Waddel/Henry Fernberger (USA) - 107 pts
10. Keiju Okada/Yuta Miyaguchi (JPN) - 110 pts

420 Ladies
Great Britain's Annabel Cattermole and Bryony Bennett-Lloyd exceeded their expectations and secured gold. It was only after the qualifying stage of the Championship that the pair became realistic contenders, as their consistent scoreline stood out, with only two finishes outside the top 10.

"It feels incredible, I don't think it has quite sunk in yet but I think it will get there eventually - it just doesn't feel quite real that we have actually won and are World Champions," expressed Cattermole.

"Going into the final race of the regatta we knew we needed a top ten to win and a top 20 to finish on the podium, so we entered the race like we have done all the other races, try to sail like we have been doing and do what we have been doing. We got a clear start which was good and had a good run up the first beat with lots of clean air with options to do what we wanted and to sail as quick as we wanted," explained Cattermole.

There is no break for Bennett-Lloyd who will be charging over to La Rochelle, France to sail a 470 for the first time, as stand-in crew for Anna Burnet at the 470 World Championships, which gets underway on 5 August.
The British pair also won the John Merricks Trophy for the best under-18 crew.

Singapore's Kimberly Lim and Savannah Siew secured the silver medal and rounded out their Championship bid in style by winning the final race. A great outcome for this pair, who finished in fourth at last year's Ladies Worlds.

Bronze goes to Italy's Sara Scotto di Vettimo and Vittoria Barbiero, who sailed a very consistent series with 5 top three results.

The William Sanchez Trophy for the best under-16 crew was presented to Spain's Manuela Huidobro and Lucia Bustrillo. Silvia Mas and Nuria Miró, Spain's reigning National 420 Champions, won the 420 Ladies silver fleet.

420 Ladies - Leaderboard Top 10
1. Annabel Cattermole/ Bryony Bennett -Lloyd (GBR) - 52 pts
2. Kimberly Lim/Savannah Siew (SIN) - 69 pts
3. Sara Scotto Di Vettimo/Vittoria Barbiero (ITA) - 74 pts
4. Nadja Horwitz/Carmina Malsch (CHI) - 76 pts
5. Carlotta Omari/Francesca Russo Cirillo (ITA) - 79 pts
6. Ilaria Paternnoster/Di Salle Benedetta (ITA) - 89 pts
7. Paula Barceló/Margarita Alba (ESP) - 101 pts
8. Alkaterina Tavolauri/Foteini Koutsoumpou (GRE) - 111 pts
9. Zeynep Yentur/Deniz Gokmeral (TUR) - 121 pts
10. Carmen Davila/Julia Davila (ESP) - 123 pts

Full Results

Francs Mouvet Trophy to Spain
A successful top overall nation defence for Spain, who win the Francis Mouvet Trophy after a dominant performance from the results of Xavier Antich and Pedro Terrones, José Maria Ruiz and Fernando Davila and Paula Barceló and Margarita Alba.

A stunning week of racing at the 2013 420 World Championships in Valencia, Spain with 374 sailors from 27 nations enjoying six days for racing hosted by the Real Club Náutico Valencia.

Luissa Smith
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM